About Us


Launched in 2008, the Canada Excellence Research Chairs (CERC) Program supports Canadian universities in their efforts to build on Canada's growing reputation as a global leader in research and innovation. The program awards world-renowned researchers and their teams up to $10 million over seven years to establish ambitious research programs at Canadian universities. These awards are among the most prestigious and generous available globally.

In May 2010, the first group of Canada Excellence Research Chairs was announced. Selected through a rigorous, multilevel peer review process, these chairholders are helping Canada build a critical mass of expertise in the four priority research areas of the federal government's science and technology strategy:

  • environmental sciences and technologies;
  • natural resources and energy;
  • health and related life sciences and technologies; and
  • information and communications technologies.

In June 2011 the Government of Canada announced the creation of 10 new awards. These new Canada Excellence Research Chairs will be awarded in the four priority areas, as well as in other fields of research. A minimum of three Chairs will be awarded in areas related to the digital economy under the information and communications technologies priority area. At least one Chair will be allocated to each of the remaining three priority areas, and four Chairs will be open to all areas of inquiry.

Another competition is anticipated to launch in 2016, when the first round of CERC awards nears completion.

A tri-agency initiative

The CERC program is a tri-agency initiative of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council and the Canadian Institutes of Health Research. It is administered by the Tri-agency Institutional Programs Secretariat (TIPS), which is housed within SSHRC.

tri agency logos

À notre sujet


Lancé en 2008, le Programme des chaires d’excellence en recherche du Canada aide les universités canadiennes à consolider la réputation du Canada comme chef de file mondial en recherche et en innovation. Il finance, pendant une période de sept ans et jusqu’à concurrence de 10 millions de dollars, des chercheurs de calibre international et leurs équipes afin qu’ils réalisent d’ambitieux programmes de recherche au sein des universités canadiennes. Les chaires d’excellence en recherche du Canada sont parmi les reconnaissances les plus prestigieuses et financièrement importantes du monde.

En mai 2010, les noms des premiers titulaires de chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada ont été dévoilés. Choisis à l’issue d’un rigoureux processus d’évaluation par les pairs à plusieurs niveaux, ces chercheurs aident le Canada à bâtir un savoir crucial dans les quatre domaines de recherche prioritaires énoncés dans la Stratégie des sciences et de la technologie du gouvernement fédéral, à savoir :

  • les sciences et technologies de l’environnement;
  • les ressources naturelles et l’énergie;
  • les sciences et les technologies de la santé et les sciences de la vie connexes;
  • les technologies de l’information et des communications.

En juin 2011, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé l’établissement de 10 nouvelles chaires d’excellence qui pourront être attribuées dans les quatre domaines prioritaires susmentionnés ainsi que dans d’autres domaines de recherche. Au moins trois chaires devront être attribuées dans des domaines liés à l’économie numérique – lesquels correspondent au domaine prioritaire « Technologies de l’information et des communications ». Au moins une chaire devra être attribuée dans chacun des autres domaines prioritaires. Et quatre chaires pourront être attribuées dans n’importe quel autre domaine de recherche.

Le prochain concours est prévu pour 2016, année où la première cohorte de titulaires de chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada approchera de la fin de son cycle.

Une initiative tripartite

Le Programme est une initiative conjointe du Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH), du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie, et des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada. Il est administré par le Secrétariat des programmes interorganismes à l’intention des établissements qui partage les locaux du CRSH.

tri agency logos