Marcel Babin

Marcel Babin

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Remote Sensing of Canada’s New Arctic Frontier

Université Laval


"Marcel Babin comes to Université Laval with a stellar reputation as one of the world's leading researchers in marine optics and remote sensing. As the Arctic frontier changes rapidly, his research will be of immense value to Canada and the world."

― Denis Brière, Recteur, Université Laval

Biography

Marcel Babin is an internationally recognized authority in marine optics and remote sensing. Before becoming Canada Excellence Research Chair in Remote Sensing of Canada’s New Arctic Frontier, Babin was principal investigator at the Laboratoire d’Océanographie de Villefranche, France. He also recently developed and led "Malina", a joint France‑Canada‑US project that explores how sunlight‑driven processes affect biodiversity and ecosystem processes in the Arctic Ocean. The project included an expedition to the Canadian Beaufort Sea in 2009.

Babin has worked at many prestigious institutions in North America and Europe, including close collaboration with several space agencies. He was also involved in applied research and is a highly respected, creative researcher who has published extensively in leading international journals such as Limnology and Oceanography and the Journal of Geophysical Research. He recently edited Real‑Time Coastal Observing Systems for Marine Ecosystem Dynamics and Harmful Algal Blooms.

Babin’s seminal research on the interactions of light and matter in the ocean, studies on phytoplankton, light propagation in coastal waters and ocean colour remote sensing has allowed him to lead revolutionary research in the world’s coastal oceans, and has helped define the future of marine optics.

High‑Tech Explorers in the Canadian Arctic

Marcel Babin, Canada Excellence Research Chair in Remote Sensing of Canada’s New Arctic Frontier, is using the most recent advances in satellite remote sensing to develop new ways to monitor change, create advanced computer models of Arctic ecosystems, and develop powerful new tools to archive and analyze the vast stream of research data about the North. Working with his research team at the Université Laval, the results of Babin's research will help stakeholders in government, industry and northern communities make effective decisions about Canada's North.

To observe the Arctic environment, Babin is adapting state‑of‑the‑art technology, such as free‑drifting profiling floats currently used to measure key processes in ocean ecosystems, to the Arctic environment. His laboratory experiments and biodiversity analysis using advanced molecular and biochemical techniques are allowing Babin and his team to create diagnostic and predictive models of northern ecosystems. The team is also developing an intelligent data‑archiving and analyzing system to deal with the vast streams of data they will collect, which is fundamental to achieving their goals. This archiving system will also offer stakeholders from the public, academic and industrial sectors a better understanding of the socio‑economic consequences of climate change on Arctic ecosystems.

Born out of a partnership between Canadian Arctic scientists and the Centre national de la recherche scientifique of France, the main component of this ambitious research project is the Takukvik, a joint laboratory program located in Quebec City and directed by Babin. This new centre for Arctic ecosystem and geosystem surveillance and modeling also partners with other organizations, such as Canadian, American, French and European space agencies, the United Kingdom's Arctic Office and the Plymouth Marine Laboratory. To conduct their research, Babin and his team will also involve the Québec‑Océan oceanographic research group, the Centre for Northern Studies, as well as ArcticNet and GEOIDE—two Canadian Centres of Excellence.


Duration

3:01

Release date

October 11, 2011



View video on YouTube

Read the transcript

My name is Marcel Babin. I hold the Canada Excellence Research Chair in Remote Sensing of Canada's New Arctic Frontier. The goal of my research is to gain a better understanding of how the Arctic Ocean's ecosystems work and how the organisms that live in them will respond to climate change and to the impacts of new industrial activities in the Arctic.

One of my proudest achievements is the development of the research project Malina, which Canada, France and the United States are currently conducting jointly in the Arctic. The project is investigating what impact the melting of the polar ice sheet is having on the penetration of sunlight into the Arctic Ocean, on that ocean's marine ecosystems, and on the growth of the microscopic algae that make up the bottom of its food chain.

Université Laval is the best environment to carry out this research—the best in Canada and one of the best in the world—for three main reasons. First, because Laval is the lead university for several provincial and national networks of scientists doing Arctic research, not only in the natural sciences, but also in the health and social sciences.

Second, Laval offers significant research infrastructure—in particular, the Canadian research icebreaker CCGS Amundsen and a network of observing stations covering all of northern Quebec and operated by the Centre for Northern Studies.

Third, because Laval is home to a large number of world-class researchers investigating the Arctic, it is an environment brimming with important ideas and discussions on this subject. Every one of the major research projects being conducted by this Canada Excellence Research Chair will provide a better understanding of how the Arctic Ocean functions as a whole.

The Arctic Ocean is a vast environment that is very hard to access. To carry out our research projects successfully, we will be using a wide variety of new observation methods. In particular, we will be making intensive use of various kinds of satellite observations. By feeding these observations into our mathematical models, we will be able to assess current and future conditions in the marine ecosystems of the Arctic Ocean.

Marcel Babin

Marcel Babin

Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur la télédétection de la nouvelle frontière arctique du Canada

Université Laval


« Marcel Babin est reconnu comme l'un des meilleurs chercheurs au monde en optique marine et en télédétection. Étant donné les rapides changements que connaît la frontière arctique, ses travaux seront d’une immense utilité pour la société d'ici et d'ailleurs. »

― Denis Brière, recteur, Université Laval

Biographie

Chercheur principal au Laboratoire d’océanographie de Villefranche (France) jusqu’en 2010, Marcel Babin est une autorité mondialement reconnue dans le domaine de l’optique marine et de la télédétection. Il a récemment conçu et coordonné le projet Malina – un projet de partenariat entre la France, le Canada et les États-Unis – dont l’objectif est de déterminer en quoi les processus contrôlés par la lumière influent sur la biodiversité et les écosystèmes de l’océan Arctique. Dans le cadre de ce projet, une expédition internationale a été menée en 2009 dans la mer de Beaufort.

M. Babin a mené ses travaux de recherche dans de nombreux établissements prestigieux d’Europe et d’Amérique du Nord. Il a également travaillé en collaboration avec plusieurs agences spatiales et contribué à des activités de recherche appliquée. Chercheur très respecté et créatif, il a publié un grand nombre d’articles dans d’excellentes revues scientifiques, notamment le Journal of Geophysical Research et Limnology and Oceanography. Il a aussi dirigé la rédaction d’un ouvrage intitulé Real-Time Coastal Observing Systems for Marine Ecosystem Dynamics and Harmful Algal Blooms.

Intéressé par les interactions entre la lumière et la matière dans l’océan, l’étude du phytoplancton, la propagation de la lumière dans les eaux côtières et la télédétection de la couleur des océans, Marcel Babin a effectué des travaux de recherche révolutionnaires dans les eaux côtières du monde qui ont contribué à modeler le domaine de l’optique marine.

Exploration high-tech dans l'Arctique canadien

En s'appuyant sur les plus récentes avancées en télédétection spatiale, Marcel Babin, titulaire de la Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur la télédétection de la nouvelle frontière arctique du Canada, travaille, de concert avec son équipe, à mettre au point de nouvelles technologies d’observation, de meilleurs modèles numériques des écosystèmes arctiques et de puissants outils d’archivage et d’analyse des nombreuses données issues de la recherche menée dans le Nord. Leurs résultats de recherche aideront les représentants des gouvernements, de l’industrie et les communautés du Nord à prendre des décisions plus judicieuses.

Le chercheur compte adapter des technologies de pointe utilisées dans différents océans, entre autres les flotteurs-profileurs dérivants, pour mesurer les variables les plus pertinentes des écosystèmes arctiques. Par des expériences en laboratoire et des études sur la biodiversité effectuées au moyen de techniques moléculaires très modernes, il entend concevoir des modèles diagnostiques et prévisionnels fiables. Et comme le traitement efficace d’une aussi grande quantité de données est essentiel à l’atteinte des objectifs qu’il s’est fixés, lui et son équipe sont déjà à pied d’œuvre pour élaborer un système intelligent d’archivage et d’analyse de données. Ainsi, les intervenants des secteurs public, universitaire et industriel pourront s’appuyer sur des renseignements pertinents pour cerner les enjeux socioéconomiques liés au changement climatique et à son impact sur les écosystèmes arctiques.

Née d’un partenariat entre l’Université Laval et le Centre national de la recherche scientifique de France, l’Unité mixte internationale Takuvik, localisée à Québec et dont M. Babin est le directeur, constitue un maillon important de cet ambitieux programme de recherche. Ce nouveau centre de surveillance et de modélisation des écosystèmes et géosystèmes arctiques s’est adjoint la collaboration d’organismes comme les agences spatiales canadienne, française, américaine et européenne, l'United Kingdom’s Arctic Office et le Plymouth Marine Laboratory. En outre, M. Babin et son équipe se sont joints au groupe de recherche océanographique Québec-Océan, au Centre d’études nordiques ainsi qu’à ArcticNet et à GÉOmatique pour des interventions et des décisions éclairées, deux réseaux de centres d’excellence du Canada.


Durée

3 min 1 s

Date de publication

le 11 octobre, 2011



Visionner la vidéo sur YouTube

Lire la transcription

Je me présente : Marcel Babin. Je suis titulaire de la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur la télédétection de la nouvelle frontière arctique du Canada. Mes travaux de recherche visent à mieux comprendre le fonctionnement des écosystèmes de l’océan Arctique et la manière dont les organismes qui y vivent réagissent au changement climatique et à l’impact des nouvelles activités industrielles entreprises dans les régions arctiques.

L’une de mes réalisations de recherche dont je suis plus fier est la mise en œuvre du projet Malina, un projet de partenariat entre la France, le Canada et les États‑Unis qui est en cours dans l’Arctique. Ce projet a pour but d’étudier l’impact de la fonte de la banquise sur la pénétration de la lumière du soleil dans l’océan ainsi que sur les écosystèmes marins et la production d’algues microscopiques qui sont à la base de la chaîne alimentaire.

L’Université Laval est, selon moi, le meilleur endroit où mener les travaux de cette chaire d’excellence, le meilleur milieu de recherche qui soit au Canada, mais aussi dans le monde, et ce, pour trois raisons.

Premièrement, l’Université Laval est à la tête de réseaux de recherche provinciaux et nationaux axés sur l’Arctique. On compte au sein de ces réseaux des chercheurs en sciences naturelles, mais aussi des chercheurs en sciences de la santé et en sciences humaines.

Deuxièmement, l’Université Laval offre de nombreuses infrastructures de recherche très importantes, dont l’Amundsen – le brise‑glace de recherche canadien – et un ensemble de stations d’observation gérées par le Centre d’étude de l’Arctique qui couvrent tout le Nord du Québec.

Troisièmement, l’Université Laval regroupe de nombreux chercheurs de haut calibre qui travaillent dans l’Arctique. C’est donc un milieu propice au bouillonnement et à l’échange d’idées.

La recherche réalisée dans le cadre de cette chaire contribuera principalement à mieux comprendre le fonctionnement de l’océan Arctique dans son ensemble. Pour y arriver, nous mettrons à profit différentes méthodes d’observation qui tiennent compte du fait que l’océan Arctique est très vaste et difficilement accessible. Nous comptons utiliser diverses technologies d’observation par satellite afin de recueillir des données qui serviront à alimenter des modèles mathématiques grâce auxquels nous pourrons évaluer l’état actuel et futur des écosystèmes marins de l’océan Arctique.