Robert W. Boyd

Robert W. Boyd

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Quantum Nonlinear Optics

University of Ottawa


"We are delighted to welcome Professor Robert Boyd to our institution. His presence among us reinforces the international leadership of the University of Ottawa in nanophotonics."

― Mona Nemer, vice-president, research, University of Ottawa

Biography

Robert W. Boyd has been an internationally recognized leading scientist in nonlinear optics for over 30 years. His research spans a range of topics, from physics to engineering, fundamental to applied research, and classical to quantum nonlinear optics.

Before becoming a Canada Excellence Research Chair at the University of Ottawa, Boyd was the M. Parker Givens Professor of Optics and Professor of Physics at the University of Rochester in New York.

Boyd holds a PhD in physics from the University of California at Berkeley, and received his bachelor's degree in physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He has published almost 200 research papers, many in prestigious journals such as Science and Physical Review Letters. Most students in optics know his name, as he is the author of Nonlinear Optics, a textbook commonly used around the world. He has also been awarded eight United States patents in nonlinear optics, and is a fellow of the American Physical Society and the Optical Society of America.

Innovation at the Speed of Light

Robert W. Boyd is a global leader in the field of photonics, the study of photons and their application in telecommunications and informatics. As Canada Excellence Research Chair in Quantum Nonlinear Optics, he aims to establish a world-class research program in quantum nonlinear optics and nanophotonics at the University of Ottawa.

Boyd's multifold research as chair is using nanotechnology to make new materials for various cutting-edge technological applications in science and engineering. His breakthroughs in optics could have important implications for research across other disciplines, such as information and communications technology, solar energy conversion, and biomedical imaging.

Using state-of-the-art techniques of nanophotonics, Boyd is fabricating photonic crystals for a variety of applications in photonics and nonlinear optics. One procedure is to use these photonic crystals to slow down the speed of light. The ability to control the speed of light can lead to important applications such as the development of buffers for optical telecommunication, laser radars to track distant objects, and spectrometers of unprecedented precision for environmental sensing.

Boyd's research program also has the potential to advance current solar energy technology by developing nanostructures to enhance the interaction between light and matter. Another aspect of Boyd's work involves fundamental issues such as determining the maximum amount of information a single photon can hold. The ability to transmit many bits of data on a single photon has important consequences for minimizing power requirements for telecommunication networks, and for improving the security of communications systems.

A highly esteemed researcher, Boyd is a synergistic addition to an already stellar group of researchers at the University of Ottawa and its working partner, the National Research Council of Canada. His research breakthroughs will help reinforce the University of Ottawa as a global leader in optics and photonics research.


Duration

2:12

Release date

October 11, 2011



View video on YouTube

Read the Transcript

In broad terms, the goal of my research is to develop new capabilities in the field of photonics. Photonics is the field of research that is aimed at controlling the properties of light for useful applications.

From my research point of view, the work that I'm most proud of is my research over the past eight years on controlling the velocity of light pulses. This work is of interest both from a conceptual point of view that one can control the velocity of light in this manner, and from a practical point of view in that it leads to the development of new devices for use in optical technology.

The University of Ottawa and more generally, the Ottawa area, already has a large group of photonic scientists conducting robust research in the area of photonics. I feel that by joining forces with them, we can put together a research program of unparalleled excellence on the world stage.

What has attracted me to Canada is the CERC program itself. With the level of funding that has been made available, I feel there is nothing holding me back from accomplishing my research goals.

The ability to control the properties of light have enormous implications in many areas of science and technology. For example, the outcomes of our research could have very important implications for optical telecommunication, for the development of diagnostics for biomedical research, and for the creation of solar energy cells with higher efficiency.

Robert W. Boyd

Robert W. Boyd

Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur l'optique non linéaire quantique

Université d'Ottawa


« Nous sommes ravis d’accueillir Robert W. Boyd dans notre établissement. Sa présence contribuera grandement à consolider le leadership de l’Université d’Ottawa en matière de nanophotonique. »

― Mona Nemer, vice‑rectrice à la Recherche, Université d’Ottawa

Biographie

Robert W. Boyd, scientifique de renommée mondiale, est un chef de file reconnu en optique non linéaire depuis plus de 30 ans. Ses travaux couvrent une foule de sujets, notamment la physique, le génie, la recherche fondamentale et la recherche appliquée, l’optique classique et l’optique non linéaire quantique.

Avant d’obtenir sa chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada à l’Université d’Ottawa, M. Boyd a été professeur d’optique M.‑Parker‑Givens et professeur de physique à l’University of Rochester, dans l’État de New York.

Détenteur d’un baccalauréat de physique du Massachusetts Institute of Technology, M. Boyd a obtenu un doctorat de physique l’University of California à Berkeley. Il a publié près de 200 articles de recherche, dont un grand nombre sont parus dans de prestigieuses revues telles que Science et Physical Review Letters. De plus, son nom est connu de la plupart des étudiants du domaine de l’optique grâce à son ouvrage Nonlinear Optics, un manuel de physique utilisé un peu partout dans le monde. Par ailleurs, M. Boyd a obtenu huit brevets des États‑Unis en optique non linéaire et il est membre de l’American Physical Society et de l’Optical Society of America.

L’innovation à la vitesse de la lumière

Robert W. Boyd est un chef de file mondial du domaine de la photonique, soit l’étude des photons et ses applications en télécommunication et en informatique. En tant que titulaire de la Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur l'optique non linéaire quantique, M. Boyd souhaite mettre sur pied un programme d’optique non linéaire quantique et de nanophotonique de calibre mondial à l’Université d’Ottawa.

Dans le cadre des multiples travaux liés à cette chaire d’excellence, M. Boyd fait appel à la nanotechnologie pour créer de nouveaux matériaux servant à diverses applications technologiques de pointe en sciences et en génie. Les découvertes qu’il a réalisées en optique pourraient avoir d’importantes incidences sur les travaux menés dans d’autres disciplines, comme les technologies de l’information et des communications, la conversion de l’énergie solaire et l’imagerie biomédicale.

Grâce à des techniques nanophotoniques avancées, M. Boyd fabrique des cristaux photoniques servant à une foule d’applications liées à l’optique photonique et à l’optique non linéaire. Par exemple, ces cristaux peuvent être utilisés pour ralentir la vitesse de la lumière. Cela pourrait donner lieu à d’importantes applications, notamment la création de gaines souples pour les télécommunications optiques, de lidars permettant de repérer des objets éloignés et de spectromètres de mesure environnementale d’une précision sans précédent.

Le programme de recherche de M. Boyd pourrait également faire progresser la technologie de l’énergie solaire en permettant l’élaboration de nanostructures visant à améliorer l’interaction entre la lumière et la matière. Un autre aspect des travaux de M. Boyd porte sur des questions fondamentales telles que le fait de déterminer la quantité maximale d’information que peut contenir un photon. La capacité de transmettre une grande quantité de bits d’information à l’aide d’un seul photon aura des conséquences importantes pour la réduction de l’énergie nécessaire aux réseaux de télécommunication et pour l’amélioration de la sécurité des systèmes de communication.

En tant que chercheur réputé, M. Boyd représente un ajout synergique au groupe déjà exceptionnel de chercheurs de l’Université d’Ottawa et de son partenaire, le Conseil national de recherches du Canada. Enfin, les découvertes de M. Boyd contribueront à consolider le leadership mondial de l’Université d’Ottawa en matière de recherche sur l’optique et la photonique.


Durée

2 min 12 s

Date de publication

le 11 octobre, 2011



Visionner la vidéo sur YouTube

Lire la transcription

Je dirais que ma recherche a pour but de trouver de nouveaux champs d’application à la photonique, une discipline qui vise à manipuler les propriétés de la lumière à des fins pratiques.

Sur le plan de la recherche, les travaux que j’ai menés au cours des huit dernières années sur le contrôle de la rapidité des impulsions lumineuses est celui dont je suis le plus fier. Ils sont intéressants d’un point de vue conceptuel du fait que l’on peut jouer avec la vitesse de la lumière de cette manière. Et ils sont intéressants d’un point de vue pratique du fait qu’ils permettent de concevoir de nouveaux appareils utilisables en technologie optique.

L’Université d’Ottawa et, de façon générale, la région d’Ottawa disposent d’un grand bassin de scientifiques qui réalisent d’importantes recherches dans le secteur de la photonique. En regroupant nos forces, je crois que nous pourrons mettre sur pied un programme de recherche d’une excellence incomparable à l’échelle mondiale.

C’est le Programme des chaires d’excellence en recherche du Canada qui m’a incité à venir au Canada. Grâce aux fonds substantiels mis à ma disposition, j’estime que plus rien ne m’empêche de réaliser mes objectifs de recherche.

Le fait de pouvoir agir sur les propriétés de la lumière a d’énormes répercussions dans de nombreux secteurs des sciences et de la technologie. Par exemple, les résultats de ma recherche pourront avoir d’importantes retombées sur la télécommunication optique, la mise au point de diagnostics dans le domaine de la recherche biomédicale ainsi que la création de cellules énergétiques solaires d’une efficacité accrue.