Robin Rogers

Steven Bryant

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Materials Engineering for Unconventional Oil Reservoirs

University of Calgary


“ The University of Calgary is thrilled to have Dr. Steven Bryant join our energy research team, where, as the Canada Excellence Research Chair in Materials Engineering for Unconventional Oil Reservoirs, he will play a key role exploring new and sustainable ways of developing unconventional resources. We are confident that Dr. Bryant and his colleagues, working here in Canada’s energy capital, will offer innovative solutions to the pressing challenges faced by our society: meeting ever-growing energy demands and drastically reducing our environmental footprint. ”

― Elizabeth Cannon, president
University of Calgary

Biography

Dr. Steven Bryant is a dedicated researcher in applications of nanomaterials and mesoscale science. His research interests range from grain-scale models of geological processes to the role methane hydrates play in the Earth’s carbon cycle.

Before accepting his position as Canada Excellence Research Chair in Materials Engineering for Unconventional Oil Reservoirs at the University of Calgary, Bryant was Bank of America Centennial Professor in The University of Texas at Austin’s department of petroleum and geosystems engineering, and was director of two of the university’s industrial affiliates programs—one on nanoparticles for subsurface engineering and the other on geological CO2 storage. Bryant previously held both the university’s J.H. Herring Centennial Professorship and its George H. Fancher Centennial Teaching Fellowship in Petroleum Engineering. He also served as a distinguished lecturer for the Society of Petroleum Engineers.

Bryant pioneered the fields of digital petrophysics and nanoparticles for petroleum engineering applications, and has made some of the most significant advances in the past 20 years in porous media modelling, reactive transport theory, and CO2 sequestration. Bryant has more than 280 publication credits to his name—including for books, book chapters, peer reviewed journal articles, and conference proceedings—on topics such as applications in production engineering, reservoir engineering and formation evaluation.

Bryant received his PhD in chemical engineering from The University of Texas at Austin, and his bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering from Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee.

Meeting Energy Demands While Shrinking the Environmental Footprint

Modern societies rely on intensive energy consumption a need which is currently being met largely by fossil fuel production. The scale of consumption is large enough to affect the planet’s biosphere, and it continues to grow, presenting us with one of the greatest technical challenges humankind will face in the 21st century, and a choice between meeting energy demand from available fuels and drastically reducing society’s environmental footprint.

Over the next few decades, Alberta’s oil sands will be a nexus for this challenge: a world-class petroleum resource, whose exploitation has left a legacy of environmental problems on the surface, and, increasingly, in the subsurface. Current exploitation methods require large inputs of energy and water, and emit substantial volumes of greenhouse gases. Dr. Steven L. Bryant, Canada Excellence Research Chair in Materials Engineering for Unconventional Oil Reservoirs at the University of Calgary, is working to bridge the gap between the current technological status of the oil sands industry and where it needs to be to ensure a sustainable, globally competitive future.

To help achieve this goal, Bryant will bring together, lead and co-ordinate a research team combining nanotechnology and materials science research with chemical and petroleum engineering, geoscience and chemistry. Nanomaterials and emerging capabilities in mesoscale science offer an extraordinary opportunity to address a wide range of oil sands challenges. Through focused application of these capabilities, Bryant’s team will work to reduce the process footprint for current extraction platforms, and develop new platforms for energy extraction that minimize environmental impact and maximize productivity. This CERC-led research program will accelerate the industry’s transformation in its approach to on-site energy extraction from the oil sands. Although inspired by industry applications, Bryant’s program is also designed to produce significant advances in basic science—resulting in “bigger picture” uses beyond the energy industry. Greater understanding in all areas will have impacts well beyond oil sands, in much the same way that biomedical nanomaterials advances are now being explored for oil recovery applications.

Robin Rogers

Steven Bryant

Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur le génie des matériaux liés aux réservoirs de pétrole non classiques

University of Calgary


« L’University of Calgary se réjouit de voir Steven Bryant se joindre à son équipe de recherche sur l’énergie. En tant que titulaire de la Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur le génie des matériaux liés aux réservoirs de pétrole non classiques, il jouera un rôle clé dans l’étude de techniques nouvelles et renouvelables, explorant des moyens nouveaux et durables de créer des ressources non conventionnelles. Je suis persuadée qu’en travaillant dans la capitale canadienne de l’énergie, M. Bryant et ses collègues trouveront des solutions novatrices aux défis les plus urgents auxquels la société est confrontée, à savoir répondre aux demandes en énergie sans cesse croissantes et réduire considérablement l'empreinte environnementale. »

― Elizabeth Cannon, rectrice
University of Calgary

Biographie

Steven Bryant est un chercheur passionné par les applications de la science des nanomatériaux et des méso‑échelles. Il s’intéresse notamment aux modèles très petits des processus géologiques et au rôle du méthane hydraté dans le cycle de carbone de la Terre.

Avant d’être nommé titulaire de la Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur le génie des matériaux liés aux réservoirs de pétrole non classiques de l’University of Calgary, M. Bryant était professeur Centennial Bank of America au Département du génie pétrolier et des géosystèmes de l’University of Texas à Austin. Il dirigeait également deux programmes de partenariat entre cette université et l’industrie : l’un sur les nanoparticules liées à l'ingénierie du sous‑sol et l’autre sur le stockage géologique du CO2. Il a occupé le poste de professeur Centennial J. H. Herring et de chargé d’enseignement Centennial George H. Fancher en génie pétrolier de l’University of Texas à Austin, et il a tenu le rôle de premier conférencier pour la Society of Petroleum Engineers.

M. Bryant a fait œuvre de pionnier en matière de pétrophysique numérique et d’application des nanoparticules en génie pétrolier, et il a réalisé certains des progrès scientifiques les plus importants des 20 dernières années concernant la modélisation des milieux poreux, la théorie du transport réactif et la séquestration du CO2. Il compte à son actif plus de 280 publications, dont des ouvrages, des chapitres de livres, des articles dans des revues avec comité de lecture et des actes de colloque. Ces publications traitent entre autres des applications du génie de la production, de l’étude des gisements et de l’évaluation des formations terrestres.

Steven Bryant détient un doctorat en génie chimique de l’University of Texas à Austin et un baccalauréat en génie chimique de la Vanderbilt University à Nashville, au Tennessee.

Répondre aux demandes en énergie tout en réduisant l’empreinte environnementale

Les sociétés modernes utilisent une énergie considérable en grande partie issue de combustibles fossiles. Leur échelle de consommation est suffisamment importante pour affecter toute la biosphère; et elle continue de croître, présentant l’un des plus grands défis techniques du 21e siècle : répondre aux demandes en énergie à partir des combustibles disponibles ou réduire l'empreinte environnementale de façon significative.

Au cours des prochaines décennies, les sables bitumineux de l’Alberta devront relever ce défi. En effet, l’exploitation de cette ressource pétrolière d’envergure mondiale a entraîné de très nombreux problèmes environnementaux à la surface, et elle en cause de plus en plus en sous-sol. Les méthodes d’exploitation actuelles exigent de grandes quantités d’énergie et d’eau et émettent des volumes considérables de gaz à effet de serre. Steven L. Bryant, titulaire de la Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur le génie des matériaux liés aux réservoirs de pétrole non classiques de l’University of Calgary, s’efforce de combler l’écart entre le statut technologique actuel de l’industrie des sables bitumineux et ce qu’il faudrait pour assurer au Canada un avenir viable de manière à ce qu’il reste concurrentiel sur le marché mondial de l’énergie.

Pour ce faire, M. Bryant mettra sur pied, coordonnera et dirigera une équipe de recherche qui alliera la nanotechnologie, la science des matériaux, le génie chimique, le génie pétrolier, les sciences de la Terre et la chimie. Les nanomatériaux et les capacités émergentes de la science des méso-échelles offrent une chance extraordinaire de relever une vaste gamme de défis soulevés par les sables bitumineux. Grâce à une application ciblée de ces éléments, l’équipe de M. Bryant cherchera à réduire l’empreinte du procédé employé dans les plateformes d'extraction actuelles et à élaborer de nouvelles plateformes d’extraction de l’énergie qui minimiseront l’impact sur l’environnement tout en maximisant la productivité. Le programme de recherche que dirige M. Bryant permettra d’accélérer la transformation de l’industrie, compte tenu de l’approche qu’il propose pour extraire sur place des ressources énergétiques à partir des sables bitumineux. Bien que suscité par des applications industrielles, ce programme servira également à réaliser d’importants progrès dans le domaine de la science fondamentale de manière à utiliser les résultats de recherche en dehors de l’industrie de l’énergie. Mieux comprendre tous les domaines profitera à l’industrie des sables bitumineux et plus encore – tout comme les progrès réalisés avec les nanomatériaux biomédicaux servent aujourd’hui aux techniques de récupération du pétrole.