Oliver Ernst

Oliver Ernst

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Structural Neurobiology

University of Toronto


“Professor Ernst is an innovator working at the forefront of this fast-paced field. His research promises to mark a major leap forward for structural neurobiologists. In so doing, he will help to make a tangible impact on global society.”

― David Naylor, president, University of Toronto

Biography

Before assuming the Canada Excellence Research Chair in Structural Neurobiology, Oliver Ernst was at the Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Germany, from 1995 to 2010. There, he was group leader at the Institute of Medical Physics and Biophysics, and a member of the steering committee of the Collaborative Research Centre 740 (Berlin). In 1993‑94, he was at The Rockefeller University, New York.

Ernst received his doctoral degree in chemistry with a focus on biochemistry from the University of Freiburg, Germany. He has numerous publishing credits in leading international journals, including Nature, Nature Biotechnology and Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America. He is one of the initiators of the new section "Medical Biophysics" of the German Biophysical Society, and served as an organizer of the international Keystone Symposia conference on G‑protein coupled receptors (GPCRs) and channels in the nervous system. Ernst is also the Anne and Max Tanenbaum Chair in Neuroscience at the University of Toronto.

Shedding Light on the Inner Workings of Our Nervous System

As Canada’s population ages, our health‑care system is increasingly faced with age‑related neurological diseases, such as Parkinson’s and Alzheimer’s.

As Canada Excellence Research Chair in Structural Neurobiology at the University of Toronto, Oliver Ernst is focusing his research on the receptors involved in nerve cell communication and offering an important opportunity for Canada’s biotechnology industry to create new therapies that enhance the well‑being of patients and reduce the economic burden on their families and the health‑care system.

Nerve cells communicate by releasing chemical messengers that, in turn, activate receptors and channels that receive and transmit the signal into other cells. Human beings have a large family of over 800 different so‑called "G‑protein coupled receptors," controlling bodily functions from vision, heart rate and breathing, to memory and learning.

The advances made by biophysicists and biochemists like Ernst in recent years have allowed researchers to build exact molecular models of these receptors on the atomic scale. Ernst’s research is increasing our understanding of how these receptors work on the molecular level, and is providing insight into their role in the development of neurological and other types of degenerative diseases. Continuing his groundbreaking work on rhodopsin, the light receptor in the eye, Ernst is also leading the way for new experimental strategies that will make it possible to control signal transmission by nerve cell receptors.

Bringing together internationally acclaimed researchers from the University of Toronto’s neuroscience and structural biology departments, Ernst’s research program is the first of its kind in Canada, and is creating a global centre of excellence in structural neurobiology.


Duration

2:04

Release date

October 11, 2011



View video on YouTube

Read the Transcript

My name is Oliver Ernst. I'm the CERC in Structural Neurobiology at the University of Toronto.

The goal of my research, the cells of our body contain receptors and they serve us to send extra cellular signals like hormones and neurotransmitters. These receptors, also called G-protein-couple receptors (GPCRs), are also important for vision, olfaction and taste.

I'm interested to understand how these GPCRs bind their ligands, how they undergo conformational change and how they stimulate signaling proteins inside of the cell. For this we apply methods from bio‑chemistry biophysics and stuctural biology.

I think the most important achievement is the determination of the structure of opsin. Opsin can combine with the retinal to form rhodopsin, the photo‑receptor in our eyes. We could solve the structure of this protein in its active conformation. And I’m very proud about this achievement of my team.

The University of Toronto has a very strong structural biology and a large community of neuroscientists. It provides a very attractive and stimulating atmosphere for me. I can interact with various scientists on different GPCRs and we can try to understand together how these GPCRs work and how this knowledge can be used to fight different diseases and to understand and fight different diseases.

I should mention in this regard that G-protein couple receptors are very important drug target for the pharmaceutical industry. About 50% of current drugs are acting against GPCRs.

Thank you very much.

Oliver Ernst

Oliver Ernst

Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur la neurobiologie structurale

University of Toronto


« Oliver Ernst est un innovateur qui occupe l’avant‑scène de ce domaine en rapide évolution. Sa recherche promet d’énormes avancées pour les neurobiologistes structuraux. L’impact de ses travaux se répercutera de façon tangible sur toute la société. »

― David Naylor, recteur, University of Toronto

Biographie

Avant d’obtenir la Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur la neurobiologie structurale, Oliver Ernst travaillait à la Charité, un hôpital universitaire de Berlin, en Allemagne, depuis 1995. Il a occupé le poste de chef d’équipe de l’Institut de physique et de biophysique médicales de cet hôpital et il a été membre du comité directeur du Collaborative Research Centre 740 de Berlin. De 1993 à 1994, il a travaillé à la Rockefeller University, à New York.

M. Ernst a reçu son doctorat de chimie avec spécialisation en biochimie de l’Université de Fribourg, en Allemagne. Il a publié de nombreux articles dans d’importantes revues internationales, dont Nature, Nature Biotechnology et Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America. Il est l’un des fondateurs de la nouvelle section Medical Biophysics de la Société allemande de biophysique et a été organisateur du Symposium international Keystone sur les récepteurs couplés à une protéine G et les canaux du système nerveux. En outre, il est titulaire de la chaire de neuroscience Anne‑et‑Max‑Tanenbaum de l’University of Toronto.

Fonctionnement du système nerveux : un nouvel éclairage, une lueur d'espoir

Compte tenu du vieillissement de la population canadienne, le système de soins de santé du Canada doit de plus en plus composer avec des patients atteints de maladies neurologiques, telles que le Parkinson et l’Alzheimer.

En tant que titulaire de la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur la neurobiologie structurale de l’University of Toronto, Oliver Ernst étudie les récepteurs participant à la communication des cellules nerveuses et représente, pour l’industrie biotechnologique du Canada, une excellente occasion de proposer de nouvelles thérapies qui accroissent le bien‑être des patients et d'alléger le fardeau économique qui pèse sur leur famille et le système de soins de santé.

Les cellules nerveuses communiquent en libérant des messagers chimiques qui activent à tour de rôle des récepteurs et des canaux qui reçoivent et transmettent le signal à d’autres cellules. L'être humain possède plus de 800 différents « récepteurs couplés à une protéine G », des récepteurs qui servent à contrôler les fonctions physiologiques de la vue, du rythme cardiaque et de la respiration ainsi que de la mémoire et de l'apprentissage.

Les avancées que des biophysiciens et des biochimistes comme M. Ernst ont réalisées au cours des dernières années ont permis aux chercheurs de construire, à l’échelle atomique, les modèles moléculaires exacts de ces récepteurs. La recherche de M. Ernst permet de mieux comprendre le fonctionnement de ces récepteurs sur le plan moléculaire. Plus particulièrement, elle fournit des indications sur leur rôle dans le développement de maladies neurologiques et autres maladies dégénératives. De plus, alors qu’il poursuit ses travaux révolutionnaires sur la rhodopsine – le récepteur oculaire de la lumière –, M. Ernst dirige l’étude de nouvelles stratégies expérimentales qui permettront de contrôler la transmission de signaux par les récepteurs des cellules nerveuses.

En collaboration avec des chercheurs de renommée internationale travaillant au sein des départements de neuroscience et de biologie structurale de l'University of Toronto, M. Ernst mène le premier programme de recherche de ce genre au Canada et est en train de mettre sur pied un centre mondial d’excellence en neurobiologie structurale.

Sites Web connexes

Oliver Ernst, Département de biochimie, University of Toronto (en anglais seulement)


Durée

2 min 04 s

Date de publication

le 11 octobre, 2011



Visionner la vidéo sur YouTube

Lire la transcription

Je m’appelle Oliver Ernst. Je suis titulaire de la Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur la neurobiologie structurale de l’University of Toronto.

Ma recherche porte sur les récepteurs des cellules humaines qui décodent des signaux extracellulaires comme ceux qu’envoient les hormones et les neurotransmetteurs. Ces récepteurs, appelés « récepteurs couplés aux protéines G », jouent un rôle important dans la vue, l’odorat et le goût.

Je cherche à comprendre comment ces récepteurs lient leurs ligands, subissent des modifications conformationnelles et stimulent les protéines de signalisation dans les cellules. Pour ce faire, j’emprunte des méthodes à la biochimie, à la biophysique et à la biologie structurale.

La plus importante réalisation de mon équipe de recherche est certainement la découverte de la structure de l’opsine, une protéine qui s’associe au rétinal pour former la rhodopsine – le photorécepteur de l’œil. Grâce à cette découverte, nous pourrions déterminer la structure de cette protéine dans sa conformation active. Je suis très fier de cette réalisation.

L’University of Toronto compte une solide équipe de biologistes structuraux et de neuroscientifiques, ce qui est pour moi très attrayant et stimulant. J’aurai la chance de travailler avec divers scientifiques qui s’intéressent, eux aussi, aux récepteurs couplés aux protéines G et, ensemble, nous essaierons de circonscrire comment ces récepteurs fonctionnent, comment les connaissances ainsi acquises pourront servir à mieux comprendre et à combattre plus efficacement différentes maladies.

En ce sens, je tiens à préciser que les récepteurs couplés aux protéines G représentent un enjeu très important pour l’industrie pharmaceutique puisque près de la moitié des médicaments qui existent détruisent les protéines G.

Merci de votre intérêt.