Matthew Farrer

Matthew Farrer

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Neurogenetics and Translational Neuroscience

The University of British Columbia


“We are delighted to welcome Dr. Farrer to UBC and Vancouver to join an already stellar cluster of world-renowned brain and neuroscience researchers based here. This investment will undoubtedly yield breakthroughs in knowledge and treatment for brain diseases and injuries.”

― Stephen Toope, president, The University of British Columbia

Biography

An ambitious researcher, Matthew Farrer has made several influential discoveries in neurogenetics, and is critically acclaimed for his work on the genetics of Parkinson’s disease.

Before accepting his position as Canada Excellence Research Chair in Neurogenetics and Translational Neuroscience at UBC, Farrer was a professor of molecular neuroscience and director of the Division of Neurogenetics, several neurogenetics laboratories, and the Transgenic Core Facility, at the Mayo Clinic in Jacksonville, Florida. Farrer was named a Mayo Clinic Distinguished Investigator in 2008—the clinic’s highest award for research excellence—for his outstanding contributions to neurogenetics and translational neuroscience.

Farrer is currently cited as having made some of the greatest contributions to Parkinson’s disease research in the past decade. Genetic discoveries from his group—subsequent model and assay development—provide the foundation for new and effective therapies that promise symptomatic benefit by halting disease progression. Farrer also holds the Dr. Donald Rix British Columbia Leadership Chair in Genetic Medicine, supported through the province of British Columbia, Life Labs and Genome BC.

Farrer received his PhD in human genetics from St. Mary’s Hospital Medical School, Imperial College London, UK, and has a bachelor’s degree in biochemistry from King’s College London, UK. He was also a postdoctoral fellow in medical and community genetics at St. Mark’s National Health Service Trust, Harrow, UK.

New Treatments for Neurodegenerative Disease

Ten million Canadians—or nearly one‑third of Canada’s population—will be affected by brain disease, disorder or brain injury at some time in their life. Aside from the physical and emotional burdens for those affected, as well as for their families and caregivers, the financial burden of treating such diseases is estimated to cost Canadians $30 billion annually.

Although remarkable discoveries have been made throughout the last century about the brain’s anatomy and functions, far less is known about how best to intervene when these functions become disordered or diseased. Matthew Farrer, Canada Excellence Research Chair in Neurogenetics and Translational Neuroscience at The University of British Columbia (UBC), is working to pioneer new strategies for early detection and improved treatments for neurodegenerative diseases.

At UBC, Farrer has established the Centre for Applied Neurogenetics (CAN)—an international consortium of clinicians and scientists studying the molecular origins of brain diseases using new genetic and computing technologies. CAN is presently housed within the Brain Research Centre and UBC Hospital, part of Vancouver Coastal Health, and is to become an integral part of a new Centre for Brain Health.

Through the CAN program, Farrer’s team is helping train the next generation of clinicians and scientists to work in neurology, neurogenetics, neuroscience and neuropsychiatry. They are advancing public health policies by improving our understanding of neurologic and neurodegenerative disease, and building strong links between academia and industry to help turn discoveries into practical treatments.


Duration

2:39

Release date

October 11, 2011



View video on YouTube

Read the Transcript

The goal of my research is to integrate three different disciplines. It’s clinical neurology, it’s molecular neuroscience and it’s genetics. And to take advantage of all the latest technologies in those different fields and then integrate them together.

In terms of career achievements in the past ten years, really I’d have to say it’s the application of genetics in movement disorders, and in neurodegenerative movement disorders, such as Parkinson's disease and related conditions. A much deeper understanding of the molecular problems processes in the brain that are going awry, and the use of that information to create novel therapeutics, basically to treat those degenerative conditions.

The strengths of the University of British Columbia, they are the imaging here—the nuclear physics facility and the medical imaging‑to be able to see the processes happening in the brain, in real time. The Brain Research Centre is incredibly strong in basic neuroscience. I wouldn't say basic neuroscience, it's more applied neuroscience. It's developing assays and looking at processes within neurons themselves, developing assays for compound screening.

There is The Centre of Molecular Medicinal Therapeutics, that’s incredibly strong. There are a number of, well, all of the researchers at the CMMT are world‑renowned in their own areas.

I’m very focused about what I want to do. And that’s really to make a difference in the lives of families, the lives of children in those families, and all family members, and to solve some of these neurological degenerative conditions.

Together, I think we can make a difference. We can understand the molecular problems in these different diseases and we can develop some therapeutics to prevent those diseases from happening in the first place. They can have more than just symptomatic benefit, but they are also going to have neuro-protective benefits, so they can prevent the disease process from continuing. And if we can apply those drugs early enough, they can prevent the disease altogether.

This is my objective over the next…it is probably going to take me 30 years, but I’m going to do it.

Matthew Farrer

Matthew Farrer

Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur la neurogénétique et les neurosciences translationnelles

University of British Columbia


« Nous sommes ravis d’accueillir M. Farrer à l'University of British Columbia, au sein d’une excellente équipe de chercheurs de renommée mondiale qui étudient le cerveau et les neurosciences. Cet investissement permettra très certainement d’accomplir des progrès remarquables dans la compréhension et le traitement des maladies et des lésions cérébrales. »

― Stephen Toope, recteur, University of British Columbia

Biographie

Chercheur ambitieux, Matthew Farrer a fait plusieurs découvertes importantes en neurogénétique. Il a été salué pour ses travaux portant sur la génétique du Parkinson.

Avant d'accepter la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur la neurogénétique et les neurosciences translationnelles de l’University of British Columbia, M. Farrer a été professeur de neurosciences moléculaires ainsi que directeur de la Division de neurogénétique, de laboratoires de neurogénétique et de neurosciences ainsi que des principales installations de transgénique de la Clinique Mayo, à Jacksonville, en Floride. D’ailleurs, en 2008, pour son exceptionnelle contribution à la neurogénétique et aux neurosciences translationnelles, il a été nommé chercheur distingué, ce qui représente la plus haute distinction accordée par la Clinique Mayo.

M. Farrer est actuellement reconnu pour avoir apporté certaines des plus importantes contributions de la dernière décennie aux études menées sur la maladie de Parkinson. Les découvertes génétiques de son équipe – un modèle subséquent et un essai biologique – établissent les bases de nouvelles thérapies efficaces promettant d'offrir des avantages liés aux symptômes en interrompant la progression de la maladie. De plus, M. Farrer occupe la Dr. Donald Rix British Columbia Leadership Chair en médecine génétique, qui reçoit l’appui de la province, de Life Labs et de Genome BC.

M. Farrer a étudié au doctorat en génétique humaine à la St. Mary’s Hospital School et au Imperial College London, au Royaume‑Uni, et il possède un diplôme de premier cycle en biochimie du King’s College London, au Royaume‑Uni. De plus, il a été stagiaire postdoctoral en génétique médicale et communautaire au St. Mark’s National Health Service Trust à Harrow, au Royaume‑Uni.

De nouveaux traitements pour soigner les maladies neurodégénératives

Dix millions de Canadiens – soit près du tiers de la population du pays – ont été, sont ou seront atteints à un moment donné de leur vie d’une maladie, d’un trouble ou d’une lésion du cerveau. On estime que le traitement de ces maladies coûte 30 milliards de dollars par année, et c’est sans compter le fardeau physique et émotionnel que représentent ces affections pour les personnes atteintes ainsi que pour leurs familles et les fournisseurs de soins de santé.

Bien que de remarquables découvertes aient été faites au cours du siècle dernier en ce qui concerne l’anatomie et les fonctions du cerveau, il reste encore beaucoup à apprendre sur la meilleure façon d’intervenir quand le cerveau présente des signes de maladie ou de dysfonctionnement. Matthew Farrer, titulaire de la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur la neurogénétique et les neurosciences translationnelles de l’University of British Columbia, élabore de nouvelles stratégies de dépistage précoce et de traitement des maladies neurodégénératives.

À l’University of British Columbia, M. Farrer a mis sur pied le Centre for Applied Neurogenetics (CAN), un consortium international de cliniciens et de scientifiques étudiant les origines moléculaires des maladies cérébrales à l’aide de nouvelles technologies génétiques et informatiques. Ce centre se trouve actuellement dans les locaux du Brain Research Centre de l’hôpital de l’université – qui fait partie de Vancouver Costal Health – et devrait devenir une partie intégrante d'un nouveau centre, le Centre for Brain Health.

Grâce au CAN, l'équipe de M. Farrer contribue à former la prochaine génération de cliniciens et de scientifiques qui travaillent en neurologie, en neurogénétique, en neurosciences et en neuropsychologie. De plus, elle fait progresser les politiques de santé publique en permettant de mieux comprendre les maladies neurologiques et dégénératives ainsi qu'en établissant des liens entre les milieux universitaire et industriel afin d’utiliser des découvertes pour en concevoir des traitements pratiques.

Sites Web connexes

Centre for Applied Neurogenics, The University of British Columbia (en anglais seulement)


Durée

2 min 39 s

Date de publication

le 11 octobre, 2011



Visionner la vidéo sur YouTube

Lire la transcription

Ma recherche vise l’intégration de trois disciplines différentes : la neurologie clinique, la neuroscience moléculaire et la génétique. Je compte tirer avantage des récentes technologies développées dans ces disciplines et les combiner.

Parmi mes réalisations professionnelles des dix dernières années, je suis très fier de la façon dont j’ai appliqué la génétique aux troubles du mouvement et aux maladies neurodégénératives, comme le Parkinson et d’autres maladies du même type. J’ai réussi à approfondir les connaissances sur les processus moléculaires qui posent problème dans le cerveau afin d’élaborer de nouveaux traitements thérapeutiques pour soigner ces maladies dégénératives. La chaire en leadership de la Colombie‑Britannique m’offre une stabilité, une base, que je n’ai jamais connue auparavant.

L’University of British Columbia est reconnue pour son excellent centre de physique nucléaire et son expertise en imagerie médicale, ce qui permet aux chercheurs d’observer les processus cérébraux en temps réel. Son centre de recherche sur le cerveau offre d’incroyables capacités en neurosciences fondamentales, ou plutôt en neurosciences appliquées. Dans une optique de criblage, il est possible d’y mener des essais et d’y étudier comment fonctionnent les neurones. Le Centre de médecine moléculaire et de thérapeutique est aussi très réputé, et tous ses chercheurs, quel que soit leur domaine, sont de renommée mondiale.

Le Centre de médecine moléculaire et de thérapeutique est aussi très réputé, et tous ses chercheurs, quel que soit leur domaine, sont de renommée mondiale.

Ce que je veux, c’est faire une réelle différence dans la vie de parents et d’enfants en trouvant des remèdes à certaines maladies neurodégénératives. Et je crois que c’est réalisable. Mes collègues et moi‑même sommes en mesure de comprendre les problèmes moléculaires liés à ces maladies et de mettre au point des traitements thérapeutiques pour les prévenir. Ces traitements pourraient non seulement soigner les symptômes, mais aussi avoir des effets neuroprotecteurs qui empêcheraient la progression de ces maladies. S’il était possible d’appliquer ces traitements suffisamment tôt, nous pourrions prévenir complètement les maladies neurodégénératives.

Voilà mon objectif! Il me faudra probablement 20 ans pour l’atteindre, mais j’y arriverai.