Former Chairholders



The following Canada Excellence Research Chairs have completed their terms.


  Chairholder details Keywords
Babin

Marcel Babin
Université Laval | NSERC

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Remote Sensing of Canada’s New Arctic Frontier

Marcel Babin, Canada Excellence Research Chair in Remote Sensing of Canada’s New Arctic Frontier, is using the most recent advances in satellite remote sensing to develop new ways to monitor change, create advanced computer models of Arctic ecosystems and develop powerful new tools to archive and analyze the vast stream of research data about the North. Working with his research team at the Université Laval, the results of Babin's research will help stakeholders in government, industry and northern communities make effective decisions about Canada's North.


Related links

Boyd

Robert W. Boyd
University of Ottawa | NSERC

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Quantum Nonlinear Optics

Robert W. Boyd is a global leader in the field of photonics, the study of photons and their application in telecommunications and informatics. As Canada Excellence Research Chair in Quantum Nonlinear Optics, he aims to establish a world-class research program in quantum nonlinear optics and nanophotonics at the University of Ottawa.

Boyd's multifold research as chair is using nanotechnology to make new materials for various cutting-edge technological applications in science and engineering. His breakthroughs in optics could have important implications for research across other disciplines, such as information and communications technology, solar energy conversion and biomedical imaging.


Related links

Cory

David Cory
University of Waterloo | NSERC

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Quantum Information Processing

Quantum information processing promises to touch nearly every aspect of our lives as researchers attempt to harness the building blocks of nature—quantum particles that underlie everything—to build unprecedented new technologies. Researchers in this new field are working to engineer the first generation of quantum computers—machines that, if built, would vastly outperform their classical counterparts. David Cory, Canada Excellence Research Chair in Quantum Information Processing, is a pioneer in this cutting–edge field. Cory is engineering the tools needed to navigate, control and exploit the quantum world. Called quantum sensors and actuators, these tools will form the building blocks for future quantum computers and technologies we have only begun to envision.


Related links

Emadi

Ali Emadi
McMaster University | NSERC

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Hybrid Powertrain

One of the keys to engineering the next generation of hybrid electric cars will be improving their powertrain, which transmits propulsion power. Canada Excellence Research Chair in Hybrid Powertrain Ali Emadi is at the leading edge of new developments in transportation electrification, including advanced electrified powertrains; the vehicle-to-grid interface of plug‑in vehicles with Smart Grid technology; powertrain components; hybrid battery/super-capacitor energy storage systems; and adaptive vehicle control and power management systems.

Emadi’s research provides solutions for industry and environmental policy-makers alike: it meets the current demands of the automotive sector and will further the growth of Canada’s economy, while maintaining a strong position for the future of Canada’s green technology industry.


Related links

Ernst

Oliver Ernst
University of Toronto | CIHR

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Structural Neurobiology

As Canada’s population ages, our health-care system is increasingly faced with age-related neurological diseases, such as Parkinson’s and Alzheimer’s.

As Canada Excellence Research Chair in Structural Neurobiology at the University of Toronto, Oliver Ernst is focusing his research on the receptors involved in nerve cell communication and offering an important opportunity for Canada’s biotechnology industry to create new therapies that enhance the well‑being of patients and reduce the economic burden on their families and the health-care system.


Related links

Farrer

Matthew Farrer
The University of British Columbia | CIHR

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Neurogenetics and Translational Neuroscience

Ten million Canadians—or nearly one-third of Canada’s population—will be affected by brain disease, disorder or brain injury at some time in their lives. Aside from the physical and emotional burdens for those affected, as well as for their families and caregivers, the financial burden of treating such diseases is estimated to cost Canadians $30 billion annually.

Although remarkable discoveries have been made throughout the last century about the brain’s anatomy and functions, far less is known about how best to intervene when these functions become disordered or diseased. Matthew Farrer, Canada Excellence Research Chair in Neurogenetics and Translational Neuroscience at The University of British Columbia, is working to pioneer new strategies for early detection and improved treatments for neurodegenerative diseases.


Related links

Gardner

Ian A. Gardner
University of Prince Edward Island | NSERC

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Aquatic Epidemiology

As global resources of wild fish are threatened by human activities, aquaculture is becoming an increasingly important source of high-quality protein for a hungry planet. The current global value of aquaculture is estimated at more than $70 billion, with an annual growth rate of 10 per cent, making it the world’s fastest-growing food production sector. Cultured fish and shellfish sales in Canada alone are valued at $1 billion per year.

Ian A. Gardner, Canada Excellence Research Chair in Aquatic Epidemiology, enhances Canada’s leadership in this industry by studying aquatic ecosystems and managing diseases in populations of sustainably produced aquatic food animals. Gardner is developing cost-effective testing strategies and surveillance programs for the prevention and control of diseases, and is investigating disease dynamics and health interactions between farmed and wild fish populations.


Related links

Houghton

Michael Houghton
University of Alberta | CIHR

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Virology

Building on the knowledge he gained while making his breakthrough discovery of the virus that causes HCV and his identification of the hepatitis D viral genome, Canada Excellence Research Chair in Virology Michael Houghton is working to develop low-cost prophylactic vaccines against HCV and therapeutic vaccines for HBV.

Houghton’s commitment to developing low-cost vaccines could have enormous benefits for hepatitis sufferers in Canada and around the globe, helping them overcome these diseases and reducing the costs and impacts of HBV and HCV on sufferers and the health-care system.


Related links

Messaddeq

Younès Messaddeq
Université Laval | NSERC

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Photonic Innovations

In his Université Laval laboratory, Canada Excellence Research Chair in Photonic Innovations Younès Messaddeq and his team are doing research on glass and optical fibres that will have immediate industrial applications in the biomedical field, national security, and defence.

Messaddeq is also collaborating with his colleagues at Laval’s Centre d’optique, photonique et laser to develop new fibre lasers for conventional and aesthetic dentistry. With his industry partners, he is helping to advance the work on special fibre sensors based on infrared materials—an area of considerable interest to the environment and petroleum industries. His work with the Institut national d’optique will also lead to new technologies for monitoring nutrients in agriculture.


Related links

Owen

Adrian Owen
Western University | CIHR

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Cognitive Neuroscience and Imaging

Adrian Owen, Canada Excellence Research Chair in Cognitive Neuroscience and Imaging, is addressing one of the most challenging topics in clinical medicine—residual brain function in patients that are non-responsive after suffering a severe brain injury.

Building on his earlier ground-breaking discoveries, Owen is using functional neuroimaging to detect and measure brain activity in patients who appear to be entirely vegetative. He is also developing new brain-computer interfaces that will allow these patients to communicate with the outside world and expand their choices for therapy.


Related links

Pearson

D. Graham Pearson
University of Alberta | NSERC

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Arctic Resources

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Arctic Resources D. Graham Pearson is creating the first detailed pictures of the rock formations hidden deep under the Earth’s crust in Canada’s Arctic region and revealing new data on the landmasses where diamonds are formed. Pearson and his research team are collecting rare rock samples of deep origin from volcanic diatremes—circular volcanic vents created by underground explosions—and studying the geochemical composition of these rocks using state-of-the-art tools.


Related links

Reulet

Bertrand Reulet
Université de Sherbrooke | NSERC

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Quantum Signal Processing

Right now, solid-state physics—the branch of physics that deals with electromagnetism, thermodynamics and the structural properties of solid materials—offers the most promising path to building a quantum information processor. Canada Excellence Research Chair in Quantum Signal Processing Bertrand Reulet is working toward engineering the first generation of quantum information processors by tackling the biggest obstacle currently facing quantum computing pioneers—electronic noise.


Related links

Roth

Frederick Roth
University of Toronto | CIHR

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Integrative Biology

Building on a decade of outstanding innovation in experimental and computational genomics at Harvard University, Frederick Roth, Canada Excellence Research Chair in Integrative Biology, is helping us better understand what genes do and how they impact our health.

Working with his team at the University of Toronto and Mount Sinai Hospital, Roth is exploring new ways to experimentally determine which variants in individual genome sequences are likely to cause disease. They are also exploiting next-generation sequencing methods to map networks of protein interactions and determine which interactions change under different growth or disease conditions.


Related links

Rysgaard

Søren Rysgaard
University of Manitoba | NSERC

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Arctic Geomicrobiology and Climate Change

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Arctic Geomicrobiology and Climate Change Søren Rysgaard leads a research team at the forefront of knowledge about the causes and consequences of global warming. An expert in sea ice and benthos (organisms living in or around the seabed), Rysgaard, along with fellow University of Manitoba scientists at the Centre for Earth Observation Science, is exploring microbial activity and chemical transformations within sea ice and ocean sediments as they occur. His team will be the first to intensely investigate the Arctic at the micro scale.


Related links

Thundat

Thomas Thundat
University of Alberta | NSERC

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Oil Sands Molecular Engineering

Thomas Thundat, Canada Excellence Research Chair in Oil Sands Molecular Engineering, is developing new detection and extraction technologies to improve the overall efficiency of how Canada’s oil sands are processed. These tools will help establish a basic understanding of oil sands interfaces and will eventually lead to extraction processes that are more energy-efficient, use less water and reduce greenhouse gas emissions.

His research program will enhance the University of Alberta’s existing expertise in oil sands research and will bring together leading-edge researchers in nanotechnology, biomedical engineering, information communications technologies, and natural and energy resource management.


Related links

Van Cappellen

Philippe Van Cappellen
University of Waterloo | NSERC

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Ecohydrology

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Ecohydrology Philippe Van Cappellen is increasing our understanding of how groundwater and surface waters interact, how these interactions affect the health of aquatic ecosystems and, ultimately, the well-being of human populations.

In particular, Van Cappellen focuses on the movement of nutrients and toxic metals between groundwater and surface water. Combining laboratory and field experiments with mathematical modelling, he is able to define the accompanying biogeochemical changes and their impacts on water quality and ecosystem health.


Related links

Wallace

Douglas Wallace
Dalhousie University | NSERC

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Ocean Science and Technology

As Canada Excellence Research Chair in Ocean Science and Technology, Douglas Wallace leads a research team working to help us predict and prepare for rising sea levels, overfishing, habitat destruction and increasing acidity of ocean water by examining the causes and consequences of recent changes, and building tools to detect and address these threats.

With his team at Dalhousie University, Wallace is developing new observation instruments that are more sensitive to biogeochemical oceanic change than current methods of detection. Packages of these instruments are being stationed on research vessels, but also on commercial ships that will act as volunteer observing platforms as well as on autonomous vehicles.


Related links

Wheater

Howard Wheater
University of Saskatchewan | NSERC

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Water Security

Howard Wheater, Canada Excellence Research Chair in Water Security at the University of Saskatchewan, leads a team of experts in water-related science, health, social science and policy at the Global Institute for Water Security. Housed in Environment Canada's National Hydrology Research Centre in Saskatoon, this global institute is unique in Canada and represents one of the world's most important clusters of water-related expertise. At the institute, multidisciplinary science, engineering and social science teams work with industrial and government partners to address four broad research themes: climate change and water security; land-water management and environmental change; sustainable development of natural resources; and socio-hydrology.


Related links

Anciens titulaires de chaire



Le mandat de ces titulaires de chaire a maintenant pris fin.


  Renseignements sur les titulaires de chaire Mots clés
Babin

Marcel Babin
Université Laval | CRSNG

Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur la télédétection de la nouvelle frontière arctique du Canada

En s'appuyant sur les plus récentes avancées en télédétection satellitaire, Marcel Babin, titulaire de la Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur la télédétection de la nouvelle frontière arctique du Canada, travaille, de concert avec son équipe à l’Université Laval, à mettre au point de nouvelles méthodes d’observation des changements, des modèles informatiques plus perfectionnés des écosystèmes arctiques et de puissants nouveaux outils d’archivage et d’analyse de la multitude de données issues des recherches menée au sujet du Nord. Les résultats de ces travaux aideront les parties prenantes des gouvernements, de l’industrie et des communautés du Nord à prendre des décisions judicieuses.


Liens connexes

Boyd

Robert W. Boyd
Université d’Ottawa | CRSNG

Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur l'optique non linéaire quantique

Robert W. Boyd est un chef de file mondial du domaine de la photonique, soit l’étude des photons et de leurs applications en télécommunications et en informatique. À titre de titulaire de la Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur l'optique non linéaire quantique, M. Boyd met sur pied un programme de recherche en nanophotonique et optique non linéaire quantique de calibre mondial à l’Université d’Ottawa.

Dans le cadre des multiples travaux liés à cette chaire d’excellence, M. Boyd fait appel à la nanotechnologie pour créer de nouveaux matériaux servant à diverses applications technologiques de pointe en sciences et en génie. Les percées qu’il a réalisées en optique pourraient avoir d’importantes incidences sur les travaux menés dans d’autres disciplines, comme les technologies de l’information et des communications, la conversion de l’énergie solaire et l’imagerie biomédicale.


Liens connexes

Cory

David Cory
University of Waterloo | CRSNG

Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur le traitement de l'information quantique

Le traitement de l'information quantique est en train de modifier pratiquement tous les aspects de notre vie, alors que des chercheurs s’efforcent d’exploiter les structures fondamentales de la nature – les particules quantiques qui sous-tendent tout – afin de mettre au point de nouvelles technologies. Les chercheurs qui travaillent dans ce nouveau domaine tentent de concevoir la première génération d’ordinateurs quantiques – des appareils qui, s’ils sont construits, pourraient largement dépasser la capacité des ordinateurs « classiques ».

David Cory, titulaire de la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur le traitement de l'information quantique, est un pionnier dans ce domaine de pointe. Il travaille à mettre au point les outils nécessaires pour naviguer dans l’univers quantique, le maîtriser et l’exploiter. Appelés« capteurs » et « actionneurs » quantiques, ces outils serviront de pierres d’assise aux ordinateurs et technologies quantiques de demain.


Liens connexes

Emadi

Ali Emadi
McMaster University | CRSNG

Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur le groupe motopropulseur hybride

Pour arriver à produire les voitures électriques hybrides de demain, il faudra d’abord améliorer le groupe motopropulseur, qui transmet la force de propulsion. Titulaire de la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur le groupe motopropulseur hybride, Ali Emadi est un pionnier dans le domaine de l’électrification des transports, notamment en ce qui concerne les groupes motopropulseurs électriques de pointe, les dispositifs de branchement des véhicules rechargeables au réseau électrique grâce à la technologie Smart Grid, les composantes des groupes motopropulseurs, les systèmes hybrides de stockage de l’énergie alliant batteries et supercondensateurs, les commandes adaptatives des véhicules et les systèmes de gestion de l’électricité.

Les recherches de M. Emadi fournissent des solutions aussi bien à l’industrie qu’aux responsables de l’élaboration des politiques en matière d’environnement, car elles répondent aux impératifs actuels du secteur de l’automobile et contribuent à la croissance économique du pays tout en assurant un avenir prometteur à l’industrie canadienne des technologies vertes.


Liens connexes

Ernst

Oliver Ernst
University of Toronto | IRSC

Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur la neurobiologie structurale

La population canadienne vieillit, et le système de santé du pays doit de plus en plus composer avec des maladies neurologiques qui sont reliées à l’âge, dont la maladie de Parkinson et la maladie d’Alzheimer.

Le titulaire de la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur la neurobiologie structurale de l’University of Toronto, Oliver Ernst, étudie les récepteurs qui sont activés dans les communications entre les cellules nerveuses, et il offre à l’industrie canadienne de la biotechnologie une excellente occasion de proposer de nouveaux traitements qui augmentent le bien‑être des malades et allègent le fardeau économique qui pèse sur leur famille et sur le système de santé.


Liens connexes

Farrer

Matthew Farrer
University of British Columbia | IRSC

Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur la neurogénétique et les neurosciences translationnelles

Dix millions de Canadiens – soit près du tiers de la population du pays – seront atteints à un moment ou l’autre de leur vie d’une maladie, d’un trouble ou d’une lésion du cerveau. On estime que le traitement de ces maladies coûte 30 milliards de dollars par année, et c’est sans compter le fardeau qu’elles représentent sur le plan physique et affectif pour les personnes atteintes ainsi que pour leur famille et les fournisseurs de soins.

Bien que de remarquables découvertes aient été faites au cours du siècle dernier en ce qui concerne l’anatomie et les fonctions du cerveau, il reste encore beaucoup à apprendre sur la meilleure façon d’intervenir quand le cerveau présente des signes de maladie ou de dysfonctionnement. Matthew Farrer, titulaire de la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur la neurogénétique et les neurosciences translationnelles de l’University of British Columbia, met au point de nouvelles stratégies de dépistage précoce et de traitement des maladies neurodégénératives.


Liens connexes

Gardner

Ian A. Gardner
University of Prince Edward Island | CRSNG

Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur l’épidémiologie aquatique

L’activité humaine menace les populations mondiales de poissons sauvages, et l’aquaculture représente de plus en plus une source importante de protéines de grande qualité. On estime la valeur mondiale actuelle de la production aquacole à plus de 70 milliards de dollars, et son taux de croissance annuel, à 10 p. 100, ce qui en fait le secteur de l’industrie alimentaire qui affiche la plus forte croissance au monde. Au Canada uniquement, la vente de poissons et de crustacés rapporte un milliard de dollars par année.

À titre de titulaire de la Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur l'épidémiologie aquatique, Ian A. Gardner contribue à raffermir le leadership du Canada au sein de ce secteur de l’industrie en étudiant les écosystèmes aquatiques ainsi que la gestion des maladies dans les populations d’animaux aquatiques produits de façon durable et destinés à la consommation. Il élabore des stratégies de dépistage et des programmes de surveillance d’un bon rapport coût-efficacité pour la lutte contre les maladies et leur prévention. Il examine également les interactions sur le plan de la santé et de la dynamique des maladies entre les populations de poissons d’élevage et de poissons sauvages.


Liens connexes

Houghton

Michael Houghton
University of Alberta | IRSC

Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur la virologie

Faisant fond sur les connaissances qu’il a acquises en découvrant le virus de l’hépatite C et en identifiant le génome viral de l’hépatite D, Michael Houghton, titulaire de la Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur la virologie, travaille à la mise au point de vaccins préventifs contre l’hépatite C et de vaccins thérapeutiques contre l’hépatite B d’un coût abordable.

Sa détermination à élaborer des vaccins à prix modique pourrait s’avérer fort bénéfique pour les personnes atteintes au Canada et ailleurs dans le monde, en les aidant à vaincre ces maladies et en réduisant par le fait même les répercussions de l’hépatite B et de l’hépatite C sur le système de santé ainsi que les coûts qui y sont associés.


Liens connexes

Messaddeq

Younès Messaddeq
Université Laval | CRSNG

Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur l’innovation en photonique

Dans son laboratoire de l’Université Laval, le titulaire de la Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur l’innovation en photonique, Younès Messaddeq, mène des recherches sur le verre et la fibre optique avec son équipe. Ces recherches auront des applications industrielles immédiates dans le domaine biomédical et en matière de défense et de sécurité nationales.

En collaboration avec ses collègues du Centre d’optique, photonique et laser de l’Université Laval, M. Messaddeq travaille à la conception de nouveaux lasers à fibre pour la dentisterie aussi bien classique qu’esthétique. Avec ses partenaires de l’industrie, il contribue à des travaux sur les capteurs à fibre opérant dans l’infrarouge – domaine qui présente un intérêt considérable pour l’environnement et l’industrie pétrolière. Enfin, les travaux qu’il mène avec l’Institut national d’optique déboucheront sur de nouvelles technologies de suivi des nutriments en agriculture.


Liens connexes

Owen

Adrian Owen
Western University | IRSC

Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur les neurosciences cognitives et l’imagerie

Le titulaire de la Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur les neurosciences cognitives et l’imagerie, Adrian Owen, s’intéresse à l’un des sujets les plus difficiles en médecine clinique : l’activité cérébrale résiduelle chez les personnes qui présentent un état aréactif à la suite de lésions cérébrales graves.

S’appuyant sur ses découvertes antérieures qui ont ouvert de nouvelles perspectives, M. Owen a recours à l’imagerie cérébrale fonctionnelle pour déceler et mesurer l’activité cérébrale chez des malades qui semblent se trouver dans un état végétatif total. Il travaille également à la mise au point de nouvelles interfaces cerveau‑ordinateur qui permettront à ces malades de communiquer avec le monde extérieur et élargiront la panoplie de traitements qui s’offrent à eux.


Liens connexes

Pearson

D. Graham Pearson
University of Alberta | CRSNG

Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur les ressources arctiques

Titulaire de la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur les ressources arctiques, D. Graham Pearson prend les premiers clichés détaillés des formations rocheuses enfouies dans les profondeurs de la croûte terrestre de la région arctique du Canada, lesquels fournissent de nouvelles données sur la masse terrestre où se forment les diamants. M. Pearson et son équipe recueillent de rares échantillons de roches provenant de diatrèmes – des cheminées volcaniques circulaires formées à la suite d'explosions souterraines – et en étudient la composition géochimique au moyen d'outils de pointe.


Liens connexes

Reulet

Bertrand Reulet
Université de Sherbrooke | CRSNG

Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur le traitement de signaux quantiques

À l’heure actuelle, la voie la plus prometteuse pour mettre au point un processeur d'information quantique consiste à se fonder sur les principes de la physique des solides, une branche de la physique qui porte sur l'électromagnétisme, la thermodynamique et les propriétés structurales des matériaux à l'état solide. Bertrand Reulet, titulaire de la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur le traitement de signaux quantiques, participe à la conception de la première génération de processeurs d'information quantique en s’attaquant à ce qui représente le plus gros obstacle pour les pionniers de l'informatique quantique : le bruit électronique.


Liens connexes

Roth

Frederick Roth
University of Toronto | IRSC

Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur la biologie intégrative

S’appuyant sur une décennie d’innovations exceptionnelles en génomique expérimentale et informatique à la Harvard University, Frederick Roth, titulaire de la Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur la biologie intégrative, nous aide à mieux comprendre le rôle des gènes et leurs effets sur la santé.

De concert avec son équipe de chercheurs de l’University of Toronto et du Mount Sinai Hospital, il explore de nouvelles façons de déterminer expérimentalement les variantes qui, dans les séquences de génomes, sont susceptibles de provoquer une maladie. Les chercheurs utilisent également des méthodes de séquençage de nouvelle génération en vue de cartographier les réseaux d’interactions protéine-protéine et de déterminer les interactions qui se modifient en fonction de conditions de croissance ou d’états pathologiques différents.


Liens connexes

Rysgaard

Søren Rysgaard
University of Manitoba | CRSNG

Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur la géomicrobiologie arctique et le changement climatique

Le titulaire de la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur la géomicrobiologie arctique et le changement climatique, Søren Rysgaard, dirige une équipe de chercheurs qui explore les causes et les conséquences du réchauffement climatique. Spécialiste de la glace de mer et du benthos (ensemble des organismes aquatiques vivant sur le fond des mers ou à proximité), M. Rysgaard, de concert avec les scientifiques du Centre for Earth Observation Science de l'Université du Manitoba, examine l'activité microbienne et les transformations chimiques qui se produisent dans la glace de mer et les sédiments marins. Son équipe est la première à mener des recherches intensives de micro-échelle dans l'Arctique.


Liens connexes

Thundat

Thomas Thundat
University of Alberta | CRSNG

Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur le génie moléculaire des sables bitumineux

Thomas Thundat, titulaire de la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur le génie moléculaire des sables bitumineux, met au point de nouvelles techniques de détection et d'extraction afin d'accroître l'efficacité du traitement des sables bitumineux au Canada. Il en résultera une meilleure compréhension des interfaces des sables bitumineux et, à la longue, des processus d'extraction plus écoénergétiques, utilisant moins d'eau et produisant moins d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre.

Le programme de recherche de M. Thundat vient enrichir l’expertise des chercheurs de l'University of Alberta en ce qui concerne les sables bitumineux. Il réunit des chercheurs de pointe en nanotechnologie, en génie biomédical, en technologie de l'information et des communications, ainsi qu'en gestion des ressources naturelles et énergétiques.


Liens connexes

Van Cappellen

Philippe Van Cappellen
University of Waterloo | CRSNG

Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur l'écohydrologie

À titre de titulaire de la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur l'écohydrologie, Philippe Van Cappellen examine comment les eaux souterraines et les eaux de surface interagissent et comment ces interactions influent sur la santé des écosystèmes aquatiques et, au bout du compte, sur le bien-être des êtres humains.

M. Van Cappellen s'intéresse tout particulièrement à la circulation des nutriments et des métaux toxiques entre les eaux souterraines et les eaux de surface. En associant des expériences menées en laboratoire et sur le terrain à des modèles mathématiques, il est en mesure de déterminer les changements biogéochimiques qui accompagnent cette circulation ainsi que leurs effets sur la qualité de l'eau et la santé des écosystèmes.


Liens connexes

Wallace

Douglas Wallace
Dalhousie University | CRSNG

Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur la science et la technologie des océans

À titre de titulaire de la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur la science et la technologie des océans, Douglas Wallace dirige une équipe de chercheurs dont les travaux permettent de prévoir la hausse du niveau des mers, la surpêche, la destruction des habitats et l’acidification des océans et aident à s'y préparer, en examinant les causes et les conséquences des changements récents et en concevant des outils visant à détecter ces menaces et à y faire face.

Avec son équipe de la Dalhousie University, M. Wallace met au point des instruments d'observation plus précis que ne le sont les moyens actuellement utilisés pour détecter les changements biogéochimiques qui se produisent dans les océans. Ces instruments se trouvent à bord de navires de recherche océanographique, mais aussi de navires commerciaux servant de plateformes d'observation « volontaires » et de véhicules autonomes.


Liens connexes

Wheater

Howard Wheater
University of Saskatchewan | CRSNG

Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur la sécurité de l'eau

Howard Wheater, titulaire de la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur la sécurité de l’eau de l’University of Saskatchewan, dirige une équipe de chercheurs spécialisés en hydrologie, en santé, en sciences sociales et en élaboration de politiques au Global Institute for Water Security. Hébergé dans les locaux du Centre national de recherche en hydrologie d’Environnement Canada, cet institut international est l’un des plus importants regroupements d’expertise en matière d’eau. À l’institut, des équipes pluridisciplinaires de chercheurs en sciences naturelles, en génie et en sciences sociales se penchent avec des partenaires de l’industrie et du gouvernement sur quatre grands thèmes de recherche : les changements climatiques et la sécurité hydrique, la gestion des terres et de l’eau et les changements environnementaux, le développement durable des ressources naturelles et la sociohydrologie.


Liens connexes