Ian A. Gardner

Ian A. Gardner

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Aquatic Epidemiology

University of Prince Edward Island


“The CERC in Aquatic Epidemiology builds on established strengths in population and aquatic health at the Atlantic Veterinary College and UPEI. This chair, together with its supporting team and network, responds to the expanding global demand for healthy fish from healthy aquatic ecosystems.”

― Wade MacLauchlan, president
University of Prince Edward Island

Biography

Ian A. Gardner holds a PhD and master’s degree in preventive veterinary medicine from the Davis School of Veterinary Medicine at the University of California. He earned his bachelor’s degree in veterinary science from the University of Sydney, and worked in his native Australia as a veterinary officer specializing in pig and poultry diseases. He has served in leadership roles in various professional organizations, including the Association of Veterinary Epidemiology and Preventive Medicine, and the Conference of Research Workers in Animal Disease.

Gardner is internationally recognized for developing methods to assess disease risk in terrestrial and aquatic food animals. These methods have been used in global veterinary and public health activities, and have influenced policies at the United States Department of Agriculture and the World Organization for Animal Health.

Gardner is among the most cited researchers in his field, with more than 200 peer‑reviewed scientific publications in leading journals, such as Preventive Veterinary Medicine, American Veterinary Medical Association, and Veterinary Pathology.

Before becoming the Canada Excellence Research Chair in Aquatic Epidemiology, Gardner was professor of medicine and epidemiology at the Davis School of Veterinary Medicine.

Sustainable Aquaculture and Aquatic Ecosystems

As global resources of wild fish are threatened by human activities, aquaculture is becoming an increasingly important source of high‑quality protein for a hungry planet. The current global value of aquaculture is estimated at more than $70 billion, with an annual growth rate of 10 per cent, making it the world’s fastest‑growing food production sector. Cultured fish and shellfish sales in Canada alone are valued at $1 billion per year.

Ian A. Gardner, Canada Excellence Research Chair in Aquatic Epidemiology, enhances Canada’s leadership in this industry by studying aquatic ecosystems and managing diseases in populations of sustainably produced aquatic food animals. Gardner is developing cost‑effective testing strategies and surveillance programs for the prevention and control of diseases, and is investigating disease dynamics and health interactions between farmed and wild fish populations.

Gardner’s research will help aquaculture regulators in Canada make science‑based decisions to maintain healthy food production in our marine environments. It is of utmost importance to Canada’s coastal economies, and strengthens the University of Prince Edward Island’s position as a global leader in aquatic and veterinary epidemiology

Gardner anchors an already successful and proven collaborative team at the university’s Atlantic Veterinary College. With Gardner’s expertise, these researchers are defining aquatic epidemiology, developing a new frontier of study, and providing the knowledge needed to help improve nutrition for people around the world.


Duration

1:47

Release date

October 11, 2011



View video on YouTube

Read the Transcript

So the goal of my research when I come to PEI will be to actually focus activities on the interaction between healthy fish populations and the environment, with a primary goal of producing healthy fish and healthy communities.

I think the career achievements that I am most proud of, actually relate to the graduate students and the postdocs that I’ve trained that have gone on and taken faculty positions and contributed to science. And probably most importantly, actually impacted science in a way that they can convey that into a policy‑making framework which, really is part of our responsibility as scientists.

Atlantic Veterinary College has exceptionally strong programs in veterinary epidemiology and aquatic health sciences. They have a university president who’s engaged in various parts of activities that are directly related, for example, he was in Montreal providing or leading the presentation of the CERC.

And I think probably the critical issue is to make sure the science that we do is policy and stakeholder relevant and also to have a strong outreach educational component, which I think the other part to this. The public needs to be informed, they need to be engaged in the discussion, they need to be informed about evidence, and about how evidence actually goes into policy development.

Ian A. Gardner

Ian A. Gardner

Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur l’épidémiologie aquatique

University of Prince Edward Island


« La Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur l’épidémiologie aquatique met à profit l’expertise indéniable du Collège vétérinaire de l’Atlantique et de l’University of Prince Edward Island dans le domaine de la santé des populations aquatiques et de l’environnement marin. Forte de son équipe et de son réseau de recherche, cette chaire répond au besoin mondial croissant de poissons vivant dans des écosystèmes aquatiques en santé. »

― Wade MacLauchlan, recteur, University of Prince Edward Island

Biographie

Détenteur d’un diplôme de premier cycle en sciences vétérinaires de l’University of Sydney ainsi que d’une maîtrise et d’un doctorat en médecine vétérinaire préventive de la Davis School of Veterinary Medicine à l’University of California, M. Gardner a travaillé en Australie, son pays natal, en tant que technicien vétérinaire spécialisé dans les maladies porcines et les maladies de la volaille. Il a joué un rôle de leader au sein de divers organismes professionnels, dont l’Association d’épidémiologie et de médecine préventive vétérinaire et la Conference of Research Workers in Animal Disease.

Il est connu sur la scène internationale pour avoir proposé des méthodes d’évaluation de risque des maladies chez les animaux terrestres et aquatiques destinés à la consommation. Ses méthodes ont été utilisées mondialement dans le cadre d’activités vétérinaires et d’activités de santé publique. Elles ont également influencé des politiques du ministère de l’Agriculture des États‑Unis et de l’Organisation mondiale de la santé animale.

M. Gardner est l'un des chercheurs les plus cités dans son domaine. Il a publié plus de 200 articles dans de grandes revues scientifiques avec comité de lecture, telles que la Preventive Veterinary Medicine et la Veterinary Pathology ainsi que la revue de l’American Veterinary Medical Association.

Avant d’être nommé titulaire de la Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur l’épidémiologie aquatique, M. Gardner était professeur de médecine et d’épidémiologie à la Davis School of Veterinary Medicine de l’University of California.

Aquaculture durable et écosystèmes aquatiques

Alors que l’activité humaine menace la ressource mondiale de poissons sauvages, l’aquaculture est en train de devenir une importante source d’approvisionnement en protéines de grande qualité. On estime la valeur mondiale actuelle de la production aquacole à plus de 70 milliards de dollars et son taux de croissance annuelle à 10 p. 100, ce qui en fait le secteur de l’industrie alimentaire qui affiche la plus forte croissance du monde. Au Canada uniquement, la vente de poissons et de crustacés rapporte un milliard de dollars par année.

En tant que titulaire de la Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur l'épidémiologie aquatique, Ian A. Gardner contribue à raffermir le leadership du Canada dans ce secteur industriel en étudiant les écosystèmes aquatiques ainsi que la gestion de la santé des populations d’animaux aquatiques produits de façon durable, destinés à la consommation. Il élabore des stratégies d’analyse et des programmes de surveillance rentables axés sur le contrôle et la prévention des maladies. Il examine également la dynamique des maladies entre les populations de poissons d’élevage et de poissons sauvages ainsi que l’effet de ces maladies sur la santé de ces populations.

Les travaux de recherche de M. Gardner aideront les responsables de la réglementation de l’aquaculture au Canada à prendre des décisions sur des bases scientifiques afin de maintenir une production alimentaire saine dans l’environnement marin. Ils sont aussi d’une importance capitale pour l’économie côtière canadienne et permettent de renforcer la place qu’occupe l’University of Prince Edward Island en tant que chef de file mondial dans le domaine de l’épidémiologie aquatique et vétérinaire.

M. Gardner travaille au Collège vétérinaire de l’Atlantique de l’University of Prince Edward Island en collaboration avec une équipe de chercheurs réputée. En s’appuyant sur son expertise, cette équipe définit ce qu’est l’épidémiologie aquatique, proposera un nouveau volet d’étude et générera les connaissances nécessaires pour améliorer la nutrition des populations du monde entier.


Durée

1 min 47 s

Date de publication

le 11 octobre, 2011



Visionner la vidéo sur YouTube

Lire la transcription

À mon arrivée à l’University of Prince Edward Island, j’entends orienter ma recherche sur l’interaction entre les poissons en santé et l’environnement dans le but de maintenir une production piscicole saine destinée à la consommation.

La réalisation professionnelle dont je suis le plus fier est liée aux étudiants de cycle supérieur et aux stagiaires postdoctoraux que j’ai formés qui occupent aujourd’hui des postes de professeur et qui, ainsi, contribuent à l’avancement de la science. Et, plus important encore, qui contribuent à l’élaboration des politiques, une de nos responsabilités comme scientifiques.

Le Collège vétérinaire de l'Atlantique offre d’excellents programmes en épidémiologie vétérinaire et en santé des populations aquatiques. Le recteur de l’université participe à diverses activités directement associées à ces domaines. Par exemple, il s’est rendu à Montréal pour présenter cette chaire d’excellence sur l’épidémiologie aquatique.

Je pense que notre plus grand défi sera de rendre nos recherches pertinentes pour les responsables de l’élaboration des politiques et les parties intéressées tout en les intégrant dans un volet éducatif bien structuré. Le public doit savoir de quelle façon les résultats de recherche contribuent à l’élaboration des politiques afin de pouvoir prendre part à la discussion.