Andrea Lodi

Pierre Marquet

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Neurophotonics

Université Laval


Understanding the brain better

Even though the care provided to patients suffering from psychiatric disorders has improved significantly—particularly since the discovery of neuroleptics and antidepressant drugs—psychiatric illnesses continue to be a major public health issue.

The main disorders, such as schizophrenia, bipolar disorder and severe depression, are being treated with palliative care right now, mostly because of a lack of biological measures that would allow for rapid diagnosis and early and more effective management of the disease. This point is even more important given that these major disorders affect a relatively large proportion of the population and have a neurodevelopmental component (meaning they develop insidiously in infancy) that could allow for early intervention—and maybe even curative treatments—before disabling symptoms appear. In fact, some children of patients suffering from one of these major psychiatric disorders have been found to display a series of discrete abnormalities during infancy that will eventually get stronger and, years later, lead to the appearance of the disease and its accompanying disabling symptoms in young adults.

Identifying sets of vulnerability biomarkers and measuring, over time, the variations that reflect these discrete changes could make it possible to identify developmental risk trajectories in these children and, ultimately, lead to defining an infantile/juvenile syndrome occurring in different stages. This would open up new research possibilities for developing strategies to normalize these trajectories through treatment specific to each stage of the syndrome, and, thereby, prevent the appearance of these psychiatric diseases in their most severe forms.

Characterizing such risk trajectories, however, means needing to identify new biomarkers by studying cohorts of patients and their children, who are more at risk of developing a major mental disorder. That is the research goal of the Canada Excellence Research Chair in Neurophotonics: to develop a set of novel, powerful optical techniques to identify new vulnerability biomarkers for these major psychiatric illnesses.

The Chair’s research is possible, in part, due to the unique access to multigenerational cohorts recruited in eastern Quebec that have, in some cases, been followed for more than 20 years. It is also possible because of the many highly developed optics skills gathered together at Université Laval’s Centre d’optique et de photonique laser, and at the Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Québec.

The Canada Excellence Research Chair in Neurophotonics will develop new, multimodal optical techniques at a very high resolution, in order to explore structure and cellular dynamics at the nanoscale. The “multimodal” aspect, which makes it possible to measure a large number of cellular parameters at the same time, will produce a very detailed vision of the cellular processes that lead to a true cellular profile that could be used to identify new biomarkers and create new theoretical etiological models.

The new optical approaches would, specifically, strengthen and complement the already highly effective arsenal of neuroimaging techniques, such as MRIs, which are starting to enable the detection of discrete anomalies in brain structure and function among at-risk children. The approaches will also help in identifying new cellular biomarkers, and, thereby, contribute to characterizing developmental risk trajectories among children of patients being treated in these multigenerational cohorts.

“With the emergence of our sector of excellence unique to Canada, Dr. Pierre Marquet is boosting Université Laval’s international leadership in neurophotonics by leading a highly interdisciplinary research project that combines cutting-edge optics, nanotechnologies, neuroscience and psychiatry in order to better understand the brain and its mysteries, and to help people.”

― Denis Brière, Rector
Université Laval

Biography

Dr. Pierre Marquet, a psychiatrist and engineering physicist, is a researcher known worldwide for his pioneering work in digital holography. Through his work, he has made significant contributions to the emerging field of quantitative phase microscopy, which, when applied to cellular imaging, makes it possible to observe biological processes on a nanometric scale.

Before being named Canada Excellence Research Chair in Neurophotonics, Marquet was director of a research unit in the psychiatric neurosciences centre at the University Hospital of Lausanne (CHUV), Switzerland. He was also the doctor in charge of the specialized clinic for in-patient and out-patient care of anxiety, mood and personality disorders in the CHUV’s psychiatry department.

Marquet holds a master’s degree in physics from the École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne, a Swiss medical degree from the Université de Lausanne, and a doctorate in medicine and science in the field of neurophotonics, under the leadership of Professor Magistretti. Marquet also received the title of “specialist in psychiatry and psychotherapy” from the Fédération des médecins suisses.

Marquet is the author or co-author of approximately 130 scientific publications, and holds several patents; he is also the cofounder of three start-up companies.

As a result of his dual training, Marquet has initiated and directed highly multidisciplinary research projects, creating research teams that bring together professionals from mathematicians, physicists and engineers, to biologists and doctors. His research focuses mainly on developing new optical techniques to identify vulnerability biomarkers for serious psychiatric disorders, such as major depression and bipolar disease. His research makes it possible to better understand the physiopathology of these disorders, and to establish early interventions, particularly for children, before the disease appears in its disabling forms.

Pierre Marquet

Pierre Marquet

Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur la neurophotonique

Université Laval


Mieux comprendre le cerveau

Bien que la prise en charge des malades atteints de troubles psychiatriques se soit grandement améliorée, notamment grâce à la découverte des neuroleptiques et des antidépresseurs, les maladies psychiatriques restent un problème de santé publique majeur.

Les principaux troubles tels que la schizophrénie, le trouble bipolaire et la dépression sévère sont à l’heure actuelle traités de manière palliative, principalement à cause du manque de mesures biologiques qui permettraient de poser un diagnostic rapide et d’effectuer une prise en charge précoce et plus efficace. Cette constatation est d’autant plus cruciale que ces troubles majeurs un pourcentage non négligeable de la population et possèdent une composante neurodéveloppementale – c’est-à-dire qu’ils débutent de manière insidieuse dès l’enfance –, ce qui permet d’envisager des interventions précoces et de surcroît à visée possiblement curative avant l’apparition d esymptômes invalidants. En effet, on constate que certains enfants de malades atteints de l’un ou l’autre de ces troubles psychiatriques majeurs présentent déjà tôt dans l’enfance une série d’anormalies discrètes qui vont peu à peu se renforcer et conduire des années plus tard à l’apparition, chez le jeune adulte, de la maladie accompagnée de son cortège de symptômes invalidants.

Dès lors, l’identification d’ensembles de biomarqueurs de la vulnérabilité et la mesure de leurs variations au fil du temps, qui traduisent ces changements discrets, permettraient de repérer chez ces enfants des trajectoires développementales de risque pouvant définir en fin de compte un syndrome de risque infantile-juvénile caractérisé par différents stades. Cela ouvrirait de nouveaux horizons de recherche servant à mettre au point des stratégies qui conduiraient à normaliser ces trajectoires grâce au traitement propre à chaque stade du syndrome et ainsi à prévenir l’apparition de maladies psychiatriques dans leurs formes les plus sévères.

Toutefois, actuellement, la caractérisation de telles trajectoires de risque nécessite qu’on identifie de nouveaux biomarqueurs en étudiant des cohortes de malades et de leurs enfants, qui présentent justement un risque accru de contracter ultérieurement un trouble psychiatrique majeur. C’est exactement le but poursuivi par la recherche proposée dans le cadre de la Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur la neurophotonique (CERCN) : élaborer un ensemble de techniques optiques novatrices et performantes, visant l’identification de nouveaux biomarqueurs de la vulnérabilité à ces grandes maladies psychiatriques.

Cette recherche est rendue possible d’une part grâce à l’accès unique à des cohortes multigénérationnelles recrutées dans l’Est québécois et suivies pour certaines d’entre elles sur des périodes de plus de 20 ans et, d’autre part, grâce aux compétences multiples et pointues en optique rassemblées autour du Centre d’optique, photonique et laser (COPL) de l’Université Laval et de l’Institut universitaire en santé mentale de Québec (IUSMQ).

Concrètement, le titulaire de la CERCN élaborera en particulier de nouvelles techniques optiques multimodales à très haute résolution permettant d’explorer la structure et la dynamique cellulaires à l’échelle nanométrique. L’aspect de multimodalité, qui offre la possibilité de mesurer un grand nombre de paramètres cellulaires simultanément, produira ainsi une vision extrêmement détaillée des processus cellulaires qui débouchera sur un véritable profilage cellulaire propice à l’identification de nouveaux biomarqueurs et sur la création de nouveaux modèles théoriques étiologiques.

Concrètement, ces nouvelles approches optiques viendront compléter et renforcer l’arsenal déjà très efficace des techniques de neuro-imagerie, telle l’imagerie par résonance magnétique qui commence à permettre la détection de discrètes anomalies de la structure et du fonctionnement du cerveau chez les enfants à risque; en outre, elles permettront de cerner de nouveaux biomarqueurs cellulaires, contribuant ainsi à la caractérisation de trajectoires développementales de risque chez les enfants de malades suivis dans ces cohortes multigénérationnelles.

« Avec l’émergence de ce secteur d’excellence unique au Canada, le Docteur Pierre Marquet raffermit le leadership international en neurophotonique de l’Université Laval en dirigeant un projet de recherche hautement interdisciplinaire qui allie optique de pointe, nanotechnologies, neurosciences et psychiatrie au service du cerveau et de ses mystères ainsi que des populations. »

― Denis Brière, recteur de l’Université Laval

Biographie

Psychiatre et ingénieur physicien, Pierre Marquet est un chercheur reconnu mondialement pour ses travaux d’avant-garde dans le domaine de l’holographie numérique et leur apport substantiel au domaine émergent de la microscopie à contraste de phase quantitative qui, appliquée à l’imagerie cellulaire, permet d’observer des processus biologiques à l’échelle nanométrique.

Avant d’être nommé titulaire de la Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur la neurophotonique, Pierre Marquet dirigeait une unité de recherche au Centre de neurosciences psychiatriques du Département de psychiatrie du Centre hospitalier universitaire vaudois (CHUV) à Lausanne, en Suisse. Il était en outre responsable de la section du Département de psychiatrie du CHUV spécialisée dans la prise en charge hospitalière et ambulatoire des malades présentant des troubles anxieux, des troubles de l’humeur et des troubles de la personnalité.

Titulaire d’une maîtrise en physique de l’École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne, d’un diplôme fédéral de médecin de l’Université de Lausanne ainsi que d’un doctorat en médecine et en sciences dans le domaine de la neurophotonique, obtenu sous la direction du professeur Magistretti, le docteur Marquet a aussi obtenu le titre de médecin spécialiste en psychiatrie et psychothérapie décerné par la Fédération des médecins suisses.

Pierre Marquet est également auteur et coauteur de quelque 130 publications scientifiques, et il est titulaire de plusieurs brevets; il est aussi cofondateur de trois jeunes entreprises.

Grâce à sa double formation, Pierre Marquet a lancé et exécuté des projets de recherche hautement pluridisciplinaires, constituant des équipes de recherche qui rassemblent aussi bien des mathématiciens, des physiciens et des ingénieurs que des biologistes et des médecins. Ses recherches portent principalement sur l’élaboration de nouvelles techniques optiques axées sur la détermination de biomarqueurs de la vulnérabilité à de graves troubles psychiatriques, tels que la dépression majeure et la bipolarité. Ses travaux permettent de mieux comprendre la physiopathologie de ces troubles et de mettre en place des interventions précoces, notamment chez les enfants, avant l’apparition de formes invalidantes de la maladie.