Younès Messaddeq

Younès Messaddeq

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Photonic Innovations

Université Laval


“With the arrival of Younès Messadeq, the Université Laval and the Centre d’optique photonique et laser are placing themselves at the forefront of optics and photonics research.”

― Denis Brière, Recteur, Université Laval

Biography

Younès Messaddeq, who holds a PhD in chemistry and a bachelor’s degree in solid state chemistry from the Université de Rennes 1, France, is one of the world’s most accomplished researchers in materials development for optics and photonics. He has numerous publications to his credit in leading international journals, such as the Journal of Chemical Physics, the Journal of Material Chemistry, the Journal of Non‑Crystalline Solids, and Applied Physics Letters.

In addition to his academic research, Messaddeq has participated in several industrial research development initiatives with prestigious companies such as Ericsson in Sweden, Verrillon in the United States, and Saint‑Gobain in France. He is also involved in several co‑operative programs with international research groups in France, Germany and the US.

Prior to his position as Canada Excellence Research Chair in Photonic Innovations at Université Laval, Messaddeq headed the research program at the Institute of Chemistry, Universidade Estadual Paulista, Brazil. He has been a visiting professor at the Physics Institute of São Carlos, Brazil; the Université de Bourgogne, France; and the University of Münster, Germany. He has also served as a visiting researcher and fellow at the National Institute for Inorganic Materials in Tsukuba, Japan.

Defining the Future of Fibre Optics

From Galileo’s telescope to Newton’s prism, glass has played a central role in the biggest scientific and technological developments over the centuries. In the mid‑1960s, Charles Kao, who went on to win the 2009 Nobel Prize for Physics for his research into light transmission, predicted that optical fibre would one day replace copper cable as the backbone for high‑bandwidth communications.

Future innovations to glass or plastic fibres are certain to enhance and accelerate the transfer of information; improve the precision of medical instruments that perform advanced, minimally invasive imaging, diagnostics and surgery; and increase the sensitivity and accuracy of remote sensing technologies that probe for crucial information under various environmental conditions.

In his Université Laval laboratory, Canada Excellence Research Chair in Photonic Innovations Younès Messaddeq and his team are doing research on glass and optical fibres that will have immediate industrial applications in areas such as the biomedical field, national security and defence.

Messaddeq is also collaborating with his colleagues at Laval’s Centre d’optique, photonique et laser to develop of new fibre lasers for conventional and aesthetic dentistry. With his industry partners, he is helping advancing work on special fibre sensors based on infrared materials—an area of considerable interest to the environment and petroleum industries. His work with the Institut national d’optique will also lead to new technologies for monitoring nutrients in agriculture.

Messaddeq’s work at Laval is making a lasting contribution to future generations of scientists and has spurred the creation of Canada’s first institute for research and training in glass materials.


Duration

2:33

Release date

October 11, 2011



View video on YouTube

Read the Transcript

My name is Younès Messaddeq. I hold the Canada Excellence Research Chair in Enabling Photonic Innovations for Information and Communication. The first goal of my research is to set up Canada’s first laboratory for research on glass materials. Once we have done so, we will start exploring new materials for information and communication. Third, we will provide people with advanced training in the field of glass materials.

The proudest achievement of my entire 20‑year career is having established a very large, international research laboratory in Brazil. There are currently more than 45 researchers in my research group, and we are receiving industrial contracts from major companies in countries such as France, Canada and the United States. We are also providing training to people currently working in Brazil.

My reason for choosing Canada, and specifically Quebec and Université Laval, to carry out this research is, first and foremost, Canada’s international reputation. Secondly, Quebec, and especially Université Laval, are very well known for Laval’s Centre for Optics, Photonics and Lasers, and Quebec’s National Optics Institute. These two things were fundamental for choosing a place to work and also, I hope, to explore new research in this domain.

Our dream is to establish, at the Université Laval, Canada’s first glass-research institute. Secondly, to train researchers in this field for Canada. And, thirdly, for our research to yield benefits in all areas—the environment, agriculture, medicine, and, of course, photonics and communication.

Younès Messaddeq

Younès Messaddeq

Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur l’innovation en photonique

Université Laval


« Avec l’arrivée de Younès Messaddeq, l’Université Laval et le Centre d’optique, photonique et laser se hissent au sommet de la recherche en optique et en photonique.  »

― Denis Brière, recteur, Université Laval

Biographie

Younès Messaddeq, qui possède un doctorat en chimie et un baccalauréat en chimie de l’état solide de l’Université de Rennes 1, en France, est l’un des chercheurs les plus accomplis dans le domaine des matériaux destinés à l’optique et à la photonique. Il a publié de nombreux articles détaillant ses travaux novateurs sur les nouveaux matériaux de verre dans des revues spécialisées, telles que Journal of Chemical Physics, Journal of Material Chemistry, Journal of Non‑Crystalline Solids et Applied Physics Letters.

En plus de sa recherche universitaire, M. Messaddeq a pris part à plusieurs initiatives de recherche et de développement industriels auprès de prestigieuses entreprises, dont Ericsson en Suède, Verrillon aux États‑Unis et Saint‑Gobain en France. Il participe aussi à plusieurs programmes coopératifs, de concert avec des groupes de recherche internationaux en France, en Allemagne et aux États‑Unis.

Avant d’être nommé titulaire de chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada, M. Messaddeq a dirigé le programme de recherche de l’Institut de chimie de l’Universidade Estadual Paulista, au Brésil. Il a également été professeur invité à l’Institut de physique de São Carlos, au Brésil, à l’Université de Bourgogne, en France, et à l’Université de Münster, en Allemagne. Il a aussi agi à titre de chercheur et de chargé de cours invité au National Institute for Research in Inorganic Materials, à Tsukuba, au Japon.

La fibre optique au cœur de notre vie

Du télescope de Galilée au prisme de Newton, le verre et ses composants ont joué un rôle primordial dans les plus importantes découvertes scientifiques et technologiques au fil des siècles. Au milieu des années 1960, Charles Kao – Prix Nobel de physique en 2009 pour sa recherche sur la transmission de la lumière – a prédit que la fibre optique remplacerait un jour le câble de cuivre comme pivot des communications à haut débit.

Les innovations à venir dans le domaine des matériaux vitreux et de la fibre optique permettront entre autres d’accélérer le transfert d’information, d’augmenter la précision d’instruments médicaux servant aux diagnostics, aux chirurgies et à l’imagerie de pointe à invasion minimale ainsi que d’accroître la sensibilité et l’exactitude des technologies de télédétection d’information dans diverses conditions environnementales.

Dans leurs laboratoires de l’Université Laval, Younès Messaddeq, titulaire de la Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur l’innovation en photonique, et son équipe sont déjà à la tâche. Ils poursuivent des recherches sur le verre et la fibre optique qui auront des applications immédiates dans des secteurs industriels stratégiques, notamment dans le domaine biomédical et en matière de sécurité et de défense.

Par ailleurs, M. Messaddeq collabore avec ses collègues du Centre d’optique, photonique et laser à la conception de nouveaux lasers à fibre pour la dentisterie conventionnelle et les soins esthétiques. Avec ses partenaires industriels, il joue aussi un rôle crucial en faisant progresser la technologie des capteurs à fibre opérant dans l’infrarouge – domaine d’intérêt considérable pour les secteurs de l’environnement et de l’industrie pétrolière. En outre, de concert avec l’Institut national d’optique, il travaille à la création d’une nouvelle technologie de surveillance des nutriments en agriculture.

De plus, Younès Messaddeq contribuera de façon significative à la formation de la future génération de chercheurs et à la création du premier institut de recherche et de formation sur les matériaux de verre au Canada.


Durée

2 min 33 s

Date de publication

le 11 octobre, 2011



Visionner la vidéo sur YouTube

Lire la transcription

Je me présente : Younès Messaddeq. Je suis titulaire de la Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur l’innovation en photonique dans le domaine de l’information et des communications. Mes travaux visent à mettre en place le premier institut du verre au Canada dans le but d’examiner de nouveaux outils de communication et d'information et de former un personnel qualifié dans le domaine du verre.

Quand j’évalue l’ensemble de ma carrière, je suis particulièrement fier d’avoir mis sur pied, durant les vingt dernières années, un très grand laboratoire de recherche international. Situé au Brésil, ce laboratoire compte actuellement plus de 45 chercheurs spécialisés dans mon domaine et conclut des contrats industriels avec de grandes compagnies en France, au Canada et aux États‑Unis. Il contribue également à la formation de personnes qui travaillent actuellement au Brésil.

J’ai choisi de poursuivre ma recherche au Canada – et plus spécifiquement à l’Université Laval, au Québec – en raison de la renommée internationale du pays. En outre, l’Institut national d’optique du Québec et le Centre d’optique, photonique et laser de l’Université Laval sont très réputés. Ce sont là les raisons qui ont motivé mon choix. J’espère ainsi pouvoir explorer de nouvelles avenues dans le domaine de l’optique.

Mon rêve est de mettre en place, à l’Université Laval, le premier institut du verre canadien. Je souhaite aussi former des chercheurs dans le domaine du verre et faire en sorte que ma recherche ait des retombées dans divers domaines, dont l’environnement, l’agriculture, la médecine, la photonique et les communications.