Adrian Owen

Adrian Owen

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Cognitive Neuroscience and Imaging

Western University


“ Adrian Owen represents a strategic investment in not only one of the absolute top scientists in his field, but in Canada’s firm commitment to maintaining a leadership role in research, education and health. ”

― Amit Chakma, president and vice‑chancellor, Western University

Biography

Adrian Owen has spent the last 20 years pioneering breakthroughs in cognitive neuroscience. His work has been published in prestigious journals such as The Lancet, Nature, Science and The New England Journal of Medicine.

Before assuming his Canada Excellence Research Chair at Western University, Owen was a senior scientist and assistant director of the Medical Research Council’s Cognition and Brain Sciences Unit in Cambridge, United Kingdom. His work there, and at the Wolfson Brain Imaging Centre at the University of Cambridge, used functional neuroimaging to explore attention, memory and control in brain‑injured and healthy volunteers.

Owen received his PhD in neuroscience from the Institute of Psychiatry, King’s College London, England, and his B.Sc. in psychology from University College London, University of London.

Cognition After Severe Brain Injury

Adrian Owen, Canada Excellence Research Chair in Cognitive Neuroscience and Imaging, is addressing one of the most challenging topics in clinical medicine—residual brain function in patients that are non‑responsive after suffering a severe brain injury.

Building on his earlier groundbreaking discoveries, Owen is using functional neuroimaging (fMRI) to detect and measure activity in patients who appear to be entirely vegetative. He is also developing new brain‑computer interfaces that will allow these patients to communicate with the outside world and expand their choices for therapy.

As a Canada Excellence Research Chair, Owen is also studying the cognitive deficits (problems in perceiving, thinking, reasoning and remembering) in patients suffering from neurodegenerative diseases such as Parkinson’s, Huntington’s, Alzheimer’s, and amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS).

Drawing on existing expertise at Western University in genetics, cognitive neuroscience, neurology, and brain imaging, Owen is exploring the nature and causes of these neurodegenerative diseases, with the goal of improving their early detection and treatment.

Together, Owen’s pioneering techniques offer a new window into the consciousness of brain‑injured patients and a new understanding of the causes of neurodegenerative disease. His work will improve health care delivery for patients across Canada, and provide a solid foundation for future leading-edge research at Western by encouraging links between neuroscientists, biomedical engineers and clinicians, and providing new opportunities for both research and industry.

Related Sites

Adrian M. Owen


Duration

1:56

Release date

October 11, 2011



View video on YouTube

Read the Transcript

In my research I try to understand more about the effects of serious brain injury in order to improve diagnosis, early detection and perhaps, even find possible new treatments.

I also work on neurodegenerative diseases Parkinson's, Alzheimer's and ALS to try and understand what causes the memory and perception deficits that these patients often experience.

We've recently been able to show that some patients who appear to be entirely vegetative are actually consciously aware, and in some cases using our advanced neuro-imaging techniques we've shown that they can even communicate with the outside world, just by changing their patterns of brain activity.

In January 2011, I will be moving to the University of Western Ontario.

The University of Western Ontario is at the forefront of research into cognitive neuroscience, genetics, neurology and functional neuro-imaging. And the opportunity to work with experts in all of these areas will really enable me to push my research that little bit further.

Well, by trying to understand as much as we can about the effects of serious brain injury, I think we will improve the delivery of health care across Canada and across the entire world for patients that find themselves in this situation. Hopefully, we can improve the lives of patients who have suffered severe brain injury.

Adrian Owen

Adrian Owen

Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur les neurosciences cognitives et l’imagerie

Western University


« Adrian Owen représente pour nous un investissement stratégique, non seulement parce qu’il est l’un des plus éminents chercheurs dans son domaine, mais aussi parce que le Canada s’est fermement engagé à conserver son titre de leader en recherche, en éducation et en santé. »

― Amit Chakma, recteur et vice‑chancelier, Western University

Biographie

Depuis 20 ans, Adrian Owen ne cesse de faire des découvertes capitales en neurosciences cognitives. Ses travaux de recherche ont été publiés dans de prestigieuses revues, telles que The Lancet, Nature, Science et The New England Journal of Medicine.

Avant d’être titulaire de la Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur les neurosciences cognitives et l’imagerie de Western University, M. Owen a été chercheur principal, puis directeur adjoint de l’unité des sciences cognitives et des sciences du cerveau du Medical Research Council à Cambridge (Royaume‑Uni). Il a également travaillé au Wolfson Brain Imaging Centre de l'University of Cambridge. Là, il a utilisé l’imagerie cérébrale fonctionnelle pour tester les capacités d’attention, de mémoire et de contrôle de personnes souffrant de lésions cérébrales et de personnes en santé.

M. Owen possède un diplôme de doctorat en neurosciences de l’Institute of Psychiatry du King’s College London, en Angleterre, ainsi qu’un diplôme de premier cycle en psychologie de l’University College London, un établissement de l’University of London.

Lésions cérébrales graves et fonctions cognitives : de nouvelles avenues se dessinent

Adrian Owen s’intéresse à l’un des sujets les plus difficiles de la médecine clinique : l’activité cérébrale résiduelle chez les personnes qui présentent un état aréactif à la suite de lésions cérébrales graves.

En s’appuyant sur ses découvertes révolutionnaires antérieures, M. Owen fait appel à l’imagerie cérébrale fonctionnelle pour détecter et mesurer l’activité de personnes atteintes de lésions au cerveau qui semblent se trouver dans un état végétatif total.

De plus, il met au point de nouvelles interfaces cerveau‑ordinateur qui permettront aux personnes malades de communiquer avec le monde extérieur et d’élargir le choix de thérapies qui leur est offert.

En sa qualité de titulaire de la Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur les neurosciences cognitives et l’imagerie, M. Owen étudie également les troubles cognitifs de personnes souffrant de maladies neurodégénératives comme les maladies de Parkinson, de Huntington, et l’Alzheimer ou la sclérose latérale amyotrophique. Les troubles cognitifs entraînent une altération des capacités de perception, de réflexion, de raisonnement et de mémoire.

En s’appuyant sur l’expertise qui existe à Western University en génétique, en neurosciences cognitives, en neurologie et en imagerie cérébrale, M. Owen étudie la nature et les causes de ces maladies neurodégénératives dans le but d’en améliorer le dépistage précoce et le traitement.

Les techniques novatrices de M. Owen offrent une nouvelle possibilité quant à la conscience de patients atteints de lésions cérébrales. De plus, elles permettent de comprendre les causes des maladies neurodégénératives. Les travaux du chercheur amélioreront la prestation de soins de santé partout au Canada et serviront d’assise à de futures recherches de pointe menées à Western University en favorisant la création de liens entre neuroscientifiques, ingénieurs biomédicaux et cliniciens ainsi qu’en ouvrant la voie à de nouvelles possibilités dans les milieux de la recherche et de l’industrie.

Sites Web connexes

Adrian M. Owen (en anglais seulement)

Into the Gray Zone


Durée

1 min 56 s

Date de publication

le 11 octobre, 2011



Visionner la vidéo sur YouTube

Lire la transcription

Dans le cadre de ma recherche, j’essaie d’en savoir plus sur les effets des lésions cérébrales graves afin de mieux les circonscrire dans le but d’améliorer les diagnostics, de permettre un dépistage précoce et peut‑être même de mettre au point de nouveaux traitements.

Mes travaux portent également sur les maladies neurodégénératives comme le Parkinson, l’Alzheimer et la sclérose latérale amyotrophique. Je cherche à comprendre ce qui cause la perte de mémoire et de perception que subissent souvent les personnes atteintes de ces maladies.

Nous avons récemment été capables de prouver que certaines personnes qui semblent se trouver dans un état végétatif total sont en fait conscientes. Dans certains cas, nous avons même été en mesure de montrer, à l’aide de techniques d’imagerie cérébrale avancées, qu’elles peuvent communiquer avec le monde extérieur, et ce, tout simplement en modifiant l’activité de leur cerveau.

J’arriverai à l’University of Western Ontario en janvier 2011. Cet établissement est un chef de file dans la recherche en génétique, en neurosciences cognitives, en neurologie et en imagerie cérébrale fonctionnelle. Y travailler avec des experts dans tous ces domaines va vraiment me permettre d'avancer dans ma recherche.

En approfondissant les connaissances dont nous disposons sur les effets des lésions cérébrales graves, je crois que nous pourrons améliorer les soins de santé offerts au Canada et dans le monde. J’espère que nous arriverons ainsi à accroître la qualité de vie des personnes qui souffrent de telles lésions.