D. Graham Pearson

D. Graham Pearson

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Arctic Resources

University of Alberta


“Dr. Pearson’s expertise in Arctic exploration will help position the University of Alberta as a world leader in diamond studies, and will advance the social and economic development of Canada's North.”

― Indira Samarasekera, president, University of Alberta

Biography

D. Graham Pearson is one of the world’s leading scientists in diamond studies and understanding the formation of diamond-forming roots beneath continents. He is at the forefront of developing new techniques for geochemical analysis, and has pioneered new methods of dating minute geological samples.

His development of the first technique to determine when an individual diamond was created won him the prestigious Lindgren Medal of the Society of Economic Geologists in 1999. He also developed the first quantitative fingerprinting technology that can determine the geographical origin of a diamond, which has implications for markets that rely on the export and sale of “conflict diamonds”.

Before assuming his position as Canada Excellence Research Chair in Arctic Resources at the University of Alberta, Pearson was professor of geochemistry at Durham University in the United Kingdom. He holds a PhD in earth sciences from Leeds University, and has a bachelor’s degree in geology from the Imperial College of Science and Technology. After his graduate studies, he served as research fellow at Carnegie University in Washington, D.C., and the Open University in Milton Keynes, UK.

Uncovering Canada's Riches

Diamond exploration and mining has been one of the main drivers of economic development in Canada’s North during the past decade, accounting for more than $2 billion in annual economic activity. To sustain this level of economic growth beyond the predicted 10- to 20-year life spans of current mines, more diamond deposits must be discovered.

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Arctic Resources D. Graham Pearson is creating the first detailed pictures of the rock formations hidden deep under the Earth’s crust in Canada’s Arctic region, and revealing new data on the landmasses where diamonds are formed. Pearson and his research team are collecting rare rock samples of deep origin from volcanic diatremes—circular volcanic vents created by underground explosions—and studying the geochemical composition of these rocks using state-of-the-art tools.

Pearson’s geological snapshots will revolutionize our understanding of the age and evolution of the deep resources beneath current and potential diamond mines. He is also collaborating with the Canadian government to forge a geo-mapping program that will help boost arctic exploration and expenditure, identifying new prospective areas for mining diamonds and other mineral deposits. In addition, Pearson’s will use his world-leading micro-sampling technique for diamond analysis to determine the chemical characterization of Canadian diamonds. This technique will serve to protect their ethical and geographical purity, and guarantee their premium on the international market. Methods developed directly from this research are also being applied to forensic tracing problems to help bolster Canada’s security.


Duration

1:45

Release date

October 11, 2011



View video on YouTube

Read the Transcript

D. Graham Pearson, University of Alberta

The main goal is to provide a detailed three-dimensional map of the deep roots beneath the Arctic portions of Canada. So the impact has got to be, both of an academic nature and an institutional nature, in terms of providing baseline information for the Geological Survey of Canada, and ultimately the goal is to give great benefits to industries to meet their goals as well.

The career achievement that I'm most proud of, I think I'd have to say would be the development of the first method for dating individual diamonds. Prior to that time, it was possible to date diamonds, but that involved a lot of destructive sampling of hundreds of diamonds that were all pooled together, and you've got sort of an average age. I've developed a technique that allowed for the first time, a precise age to be placed on a single diamond of a single measurement.

The university has a world-class group of researchers already in my general field, and that's always a good thing to have if you want to move somewhere, so that you are surrounded by colleagues that are also excellent in their field. And so the aim is to team up and make a unit that would be the world's leader in this sort of research. So that's a big attraction to the University of Alberta. It's an extremely well supported university.

D. Graham Pearson

D. Graham Pearson

Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur les ressources arctiques

University of Alberta


« Les grandes connaissances que possède M. Pearson sur l'exploration arctique aideront à faire de l'University of Alberta un chef de file mondial dans l'étude des diamants. Elles contribueront aussi à faire progresser le développement économique et social du Nord du Canada. »

― Indira Samarasekera, rectrice, University of Alberta

Biographie

D. Graham Pearson est l'un des plus grands scientifiques du monde qui s'intéresse à l'étude des diamants et cherche à comprendre comment se forment les filons de diamants sous les continents. L'un des premiers à élaborer des techniques novatrices d'analyse géochimique, il a conçu de nouvelles méthodes pour dater de minuscules prélèvements géologiques.

En 1999, il s'est vu décerner la prestigieuse médaille Lindgren de la Société des géologues économiques pour avoir mis au point la première technique servant à établir l'âge d'un diamant. M. Pearson est également à l'origine de la première technologie de dactyloscopie quantitative permettant de déterminer l'origine géologique des diamants, ce qui a une incidence sur les marchés qui dépendent de l'exportation et de la vente des « diamants de la guerre ».

Avant d'accepter la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur les ressources arctiques de l'University of Alberta, M. Pearson était professeur de géochimie à la Durham University, au Royaume-Uni. Il possède un diplôme de premier cycle en géologie de l'Imperial College of Science and Technology ainsi qu'un doctorat en sciences de la Terre de la Leeds University. Après avoir terminé ses études supérieures, il a été chercheur universitaire à la Carnegie University, à Washington, D.C., et à l'Open University, à Milton Keynes, au Royaume-Uni.

Des diamants entièrement canadiens

L'exploration des mines de diamants et l'extraction du précieux minéral sont, depuis une décennie, deux des principaux moteurs du développement économique du Nord du Canada, ce qui représente plus de deux milliards du revenu économique annuel de cette région. Afin de s'assurer que cette croissance économique se poursuive au delà des 10 à 20 années d'exploitation prévues pour les mines actuelles, il faudra découvrir d'ici là d'autres gisements de diamants.

Titulaire de la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur les ressources arctiques, D. Graham Pearson prend les premiers clichés détaillés des formations rocheuses enfouies dans les profondeurs de la croûte terrestre de la région arctique du Canada, lesquels fourniront de nouvelles données sur la masse terrestre où se forment les diamants. Lui et son équipe de recherche recueillent de rares échantillons de roches provenant de diatrèmes – des cheminées volcaniques circulaires formées à la suite d'explosions souterraines – et en étudient la composition géochimique au moyen d'outils de pointe.

Les clichés géologiques de M. Pearson changeront complètement notre façon de comprendre l'évolution et la durée de vie des vastes ressources se trouvant sous des mines de diamants qui sont en exploitation et qui le seront ultérieurement. De plus, il collabore avec le gouvernement du Canada dans le but de créer un programme de géocartographie qui, en délimitant de nouvelles régions où l’on pourrait exploiter des gisements de diamants et d'autres minéraux, aidera à stimuler la prospection minière dans l'Arctique et à prévoir les sommes nécessaires à sa réalisation.

En outre, M. Pearson utilisera sa technique de microprélèvement d'analyse de diamant de renommée mondiale afin de déterminer les propriétés chimiques des diamants canadiens. Cette technique permettra de protéger leur pureté d’un point de vue éthique et géographique, et de garantir leur qualité sur le marché international. On utilise également les méthodes directement issues de ces travaux de recherche pour résoudre des problèmes de repérage judiciaire afin de contribuer à la consolidation de la sécurité au Canada.


Durée

1 min 45 s

Date de publication

le 11 octobre, 2011



Visionner la vidéo sur YouTube

Lire la transcription

D. Graham Pearson, University of Alberta

Ma recherche vise principalement à tracer une carte tridimensionnelle des filons de diamants qui se trouvent sous la région arctique du Canada. Elle aura des répercussions tant dans le milieu universitaire que dans les établissements puisqu'elle fournira des renseignements de base à la Commission géologique du Canada. En bout de ligne, j'espère que mes travaux profiteront grandement aux industries en les aidant à atteindre leurs propres objectifs.

La réalisation professionnelle dont je suis le plus fier, c'est, je dirais, d'avoir mis au point la première méthode de datation des diamants. Le processus de datation qui existait auparavant ne permettait pas d'obtenir une information précise et entraînait la destruction de centaines d'échantillons de diamants. J'ai élaboré une technique qui, pour la première fois, permet de dater exactement un diamant à partir d’une seule mesure.

L'University of Alberta compte dans ses rangs un groupe de chercheurs de calibre mondial qui étudient dans le même domaine que moi. Être entouré de collègues qui sont des spécialistes dans leur domaine représente un atout quand on veut faire avancer sa recherche. J'entends donc me joindre à eux et former une équipe qui deviendra un chef de file mondial dans ce genre de recherche. Voilà ce qui m'attire principalement à l'University of Alberta!