Frederick Roth

Frederick Roth

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Integrative Biology

University of Toronto


“Professor Roth is at the forefront of the race to develop new tools to unlock and make use of the wealth of DNA and protein information around the world. He is precisely the class of researcher we hoped the Canada Excellence Research Chairs Program would enable us to attract to Canada.”

― David Naylor, past president, University of Toronto

Biography

Before becoming Canada Excellence Research Chair in Integrative Biology, Frederick Roth was an associate professor in the Department of Biological Chemistry and Molecular Pharmacology at Harvard Medical School.

Roth completed his PhD in biophysics at Harvard University, after studying both physics and molecular and cell biology at the University of California, Berkeley. After receiving his PhD, he gained experience in applied biotechnology as a scientist at Millennium Pharmaceuticals. He continues to be a fellow at the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research, and a member of the Center for Cancer Systems Biology at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Boston.

With numerous publications to their credit, Roth’s team has contributed work to leading journals such as Science, Nature and Cell. Roth has served as an Associate Editor for Bioinformatics, Public Library of Science: Computational Biology, and G3:Genes, Genomes, Genetics.

Roth’s group continues to focus on developing technology to more efficiently relate genes to the functioning of living systems and human disease.

Genomic Technologies for Mapping Pathways and Understanding Diseases

Imagine a future where people routinely read their own genomes to explore their individuality and their health. It may sound like science fiction, but scientists today are already able to read the basic DNA blueprint for any species we care to study. The challenge is that the genome sequence is like an encyclopedia written in an alien language, and our ability to reveal DNA sequences has greatly outpaced our capacity to understand them.

Building on a decade of outstanding innovation in experimental and computational genomics at Harvard University, Frederick Roth, Canada Excellence Research Chair in Integrative Biology, is helping us better understand what genes do and how they impact our health.

Working with his team at the University of Toronto and Mount Sinai Hospital, Roth is exploring new ways to harness technology for DNA sequencing. They also using computational methods to analyze and integrate the results of diverse, large-scale experiments, and have developed a way to find and prioritize genes that are most likely responsible for certain diseases so that research time and money can be best allocated.

Roth’s work will add to the leading-edge systems biology research team already in place at the Samuel Lunenfeld Research Institute and the University of Toronto. His team includes experimental technologists and computational experts, and operates by forming collaborations at between experts in technology and those in biomedical research.

Roth’s research will help keep Canada at the forefront of biomedical research, develop highly qualified personnel in this growing field, and contribute innovative products and intellectual property to Canada’s economy.

Related Sites

Roth Laboratory


Duration

1:58

Release date

October 11, 2011



View video on YouTube

Read the Transcript

Frederick Roth, University of Toronto

I'm Frederick Roth.

So I would say the goal of my research is to develop technology to facilitate that to make experiments that act on every gene and every protein more efficient and allow us to access higher through-put, larger scale experiments.

What I say is my career achievement that I'm most proud and that's sort of hard to say, I'd like to think that our best work is yet to come. But if I look back, I guess I was very proud at the beginning in my PhD thesis work. We were among the first users of a new technology called micro-ray analysis of gene expression, which is now common practice in the lab. I guess more recently in my lab I've been very excited about integrating all the large-scale data that we can get our hands on—gene sequence patterns, expression patterns, protein interaction networks, patterns of conservation across species—and try to pull all the large-scale evidence together that we can and try to infer functions for genes. What is this gene doing given all of the unbiased large-scale experimentation that's been done on it.

Before the Canada Excellence Research Chairs program came along, actually going back seven years now, I got very excited reading a paper by Charlie Boone and Brenda Andrews here at the University of Toronto where they described large-scale measurements of genetic interactions. And I was inspired by this, that this is the place to take my science to the next level and so I was very excited to have a chance.

Frederick Roth

Frederick Roth

Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur la biologie intégrative

University of Toronto


« M. Roth est un chef de file en ce qui a trait à l'élaboration de nouveaux outils servant à déchiffrer le code de l'ADN et des protéines. L'expertise de M. Roth correspond exactement au profil recherché par le Programme des chaires d'excellence en recherche du Canada. »

― David Naylor, ancien recteur, University of Toronto

Biographie

Avant d’occuper la Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur la biologie intégrative, Frederick Roth était professeur agrégé au Département de chimie biologique et de pharmacologie moléculaire de la Faculté de médecine de la Harvard University.

M. Roth a obtenu son doctorat en biophysique à la Harvard University, après avoir étudié la physique et la biologie moléculaire et cellulaire à l’University of California, à Berkeley. Par la suite, il a acquis de l’expérience en biotechnologie appliquée comme chercheur à la Millennium Pharmaceuticals. Il codirige actuellement le Programme réseaux génétiques de l’Institut canadien de recherches avancées et il est membre du Centre d’étude de la biologie des systèmes et du cancer du Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, à Boston.

Auteurs de nombreux articles scientifiques, M. Roth et son équipe ont publié dans de prestigieuses revues, notamment Science, Nature et Cell. En outre, M. Roth a été rédacteur en chef adjoint de Bioinformatics, Public Library of Science: Computational Biology et de G3: Genes, Genomes, Genetics.

Le groupe de Frederick Roth continue de mettre au point des technologies en vue de relier plus efficacement les gènes au fonctionnement des systèmes vivants et des pathologies humaines.

Technologies génomiques de cartographie des voies protéiques et de compréhension des maladies

Un jour, les gens liront régulièrement leur génome pour explorer leur individualité et leur santé. Cela semble relever de la science-fiction, mais les chercheurs sont déjà en mesure de lire le plan ADN de base de toutes les espèces qui nous intéressent. Le défi tient au fait que la séquence du génome s’apparente à une encyclopédie écrite dans une langue étrangère et que notre capacité d’établir les séquences de l’ADN a nettement dépassé celle de les comprendre.

S’appuyant sur une décennie d’innovation exceptionnelle en génomique expérimentale et informatique à la Harvard University, Frederick Roth, titulaire de la Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur la biologie intégrative, nous aide à mieux comprendre le rôle des gènes et leurs effets sur la santé.

En collaboration avec son équipe de l’University of Toronto et du Mount Sinai Hospital, il explore de nouvelles façons de déterminer expérimentalement les variantes dans les séquences d’un génome particulier susceptibles de provoquer une maladie. L’équipe utilise également des méthodes de séquençage de nouvelle génération en vue de cartographier les réseaux d’interactions entre protéines et de déterminer celles qui sont modifiées en fonction de conditions de croissance ou d’états pathologiques différents.

Le chercheur s’intègre à l’équipe de recherche sur la biologie des systèmes de pointe déjà en place à l’Institut de recherche Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum et à l’University of Toronto. Son équipe comprend des technologues de laboratoire et des experts en informatique et favorise la collaboration entre les experts en technologie et ceux en recherche biomédicale.

Le laboratoire de Frederick Roth aidera le Canada à demeurer à l’avant-garde de la recherche biomédicale, à former du personnel hautement qualifié dans ce domaine en pleine croissance, à mettre au point des produits innovants et à valoriser la propriété intellectuelle au profit de l’économie canadienne.

Sites Web connexes

Laboratoire de Frederick Roth (en anglais seulement)


Durée

1 min 58 s

Date de publication

le 11 octobre, 2011



Visionner la vidéo sur YouTube

Lire la transcription

Frederick Roth, University of Toronto

Je me présente, Frederick Roth. Ma recherche vise la mise au point d'une technologie qui facilitera la réalisation d'expériences portant sur chaque gène et chaque protéine et qui permettra de faire des expériences à plus grande échelle.

L'accomplissement professionnel dont je suis le plus fier? Difficile à dire… J'aimerais croire que le meilleur est à venir. Mais si je remonte dans le temps, je dirais qu'au début de mon travail de doctorat, j'ai été fier d'être parmi les premiers à utiliser la technique d'analyse par microrayonnement de l'expression génétique, qui est aujourd'hui couramment employée en laboratoire. Plus récemment, j'ai été très content d'intégrer en laboratoire toutes les données à grande échelle disponibles – séquences génétiques, expressions génétiques, réseaux d'interaction protéique, pratiques de conservation entre les espèces – pour en tirer autant d'indications que possible et attribuer des fonctions aux gènes. Par exemple, arriver à définir le rôle d'un certain gène compte tenu des résultats obtenus au terme de toutes les expériences objectives à grande échelle.

Il y a sept ans, plusieurs années donc avant le lancement du Programme des chaires d’excellence en recherche du Canada, un article de Charlie Boone et Brenda Andrews, chercheurs à l'University of Toronto, a piqué ma curiosité. Cet article expliquait comment mesurer les interactions génétiques à grande échelle. J'ai tout de suite été inspiré. L'University of Toronto est l'endroit idéal pour faire avancer ma recherche. J'ai beaucoup de chance et je suis très enthousiaste à l'idée d’y travailler.