Erik Snowberg

Erik Snowberg

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Data-Intensive Methods in Economics

The University of British Columbia

“We are excited to welcome Erik Snowberg, both to Vancouver and to UBC’s team of leading economists. This CERC appointment represents an important investment in the social sciences, one that will enable our researchers to provide cutting-edge insights into how public policy and the economy inform our daily lives.”

― Martha Piper, Interim President, University of British Columbia


Renowned economist Erik Snowberg joins The University of British Columbia as Canada Excellence Research Chair in Data-Intensive Methods in Economics.

Snowberg will lead a cutting-edge, cross-disciplinary research program aimed at linking disparate fields in economics. His goal is to build UBC into a world leader in the empirical study of political economy, mining innovative data to better understand the effects of politics and policy on the economy. Snowberg’s appointment will include the launch of a new Centre for Innovative Data in Economics at UBC.

Prior to joining UBC’s Vancouver School of Economics, Snowberg was a professor of economics and political science at the California Institute of Technology (Caltech). His research has two foci: using social science theory to design better experiments involving people, with applications in medicine and economic development; and combining behavioral economics with political economy to better understand the roots of partisan politics and its effects on policy.

Snowberg has earned a National Bureau of Economic Research Faculty Research Fellowship, a Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research Dissertation Fellowship, and an Honorable Mention from the National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship Program.

Snowberg received his PhD in business administration from Stanford University. He holds undergraduate degrees in math and physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

High-Quality Data for Better Quality of Life

Erik Snowberg plans to make The University of British Columbia into the world leader in empirical political economy research. The Canada Excellence Research Chair in Data-Intensive Methods in Economics at the university is using innovative data to understand the effects of politics and policy on the economy. Snowberg and his team’s research will explore how business and environmental groups can collaborate with government to simultaneously improve economic productivity and quality of life.

Recent years have seen an explosion of the types of data produced and stored by companies, governments and private citizens. This data, and the tools to analyze it, could revolutionize the historically macro-level, theoretical field of political economy, into a data-driven, micro-level enterprise.

This new path for political economy promises to turn it into a field that can understand economics and politics at the level at which individuals, companies, and politicians experience them. The research behind this new direction will also provide governments, corporations and societies with the tools they need to make better, politically feasible policies.

Snowberg and his research team will be based at The University of British Columbia’s new Centre for Innovative Data in Economics (CIDE). The work at CIDE will build on the university’s already considerable expertise in labour economics, international trade, industrial organization and political economy.

As Canada Excellence Research Chair, Snowberg will oversee CIDE’s development, including that of its data holdings. The Chair position and CIDE will help create a "hub of knowledge" for attracting and retaining top researchers from around the world, and for training highly qualified personnel with the skills to analyze massive datasets in order to support practice and policy decisions.

Erik Snowberg

Erik Snowberg

Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur l’utilisation de méthodes à forte intensité de données en économie

University of British Columbia


« Nous sommes ravis d’accueillir Erik Snowberg à Vancouver et au sein de l’équipe d’économistes de premier plan de l’UBC. Cette nomination représente un investissement important dans les sciences humaines, qui permettra à nos chercheurs de jeter un nouvel éclairage percutant sur la façon dont les politiques publiques et l’économie guident nos vies quotidiennes. »

– La rectrice par intérim de l’University of British Columbia, Martha Piper

Biographie

L’économiste réputé Erik Snowberg se joint à l’University of British Columbia à titre de titulaire de la Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur l’utilisation de méthodes à forte intensité de données en économie.

Le professeur Snowberg dirigera un programme de recherche interdisciplinaire à la fine pointe, qui aura pour objectif de relier des champs d’investigation disparates en économie. Il compte faire de l’UBC un chef de file mondial de l’étude empirique de l’économie politique, en explorant des données novatrices afin de mieux comprendre les effets de la politique et des politiques sur l’économie. Sa nomination s’accompagne du lancement du nouveau Centre for Innovative Data in Economics de l’UBC.

Avant son arrivée à la Vancouver School of Economics de l’UBC, M. Snowberg était professeur d’économie et de sciences politiques au California Institute of Technology. Il s’est intéressé à deux grands axes de recherche : d’une part, il a utilisé la théorie des sciences sociales pour concevoir de meilleures expériences faisant appel à des sujets humains en vue d’applications en médecine et en développement économique et, d’autre part, il a associé l’économie comportementale à l’économie politique pour mieux comprendre les fondements de la politique partisane et les répercussions qui en découlent sur les politiques.

M. Snowberg a obtenu une bourse de recherche du National Bureau of Economic Research, une bourse de rédaction de thèse du Stanford Institute for Economic Policy Research, ainsi qu’une mention d’honneur du programme de bourses de recherche de cycles supérieurs de la National Science Foundation.

Le professeur Snowberg est titulaire d’un doctorat en administration des affaires de la Stanford University et de diplômes de premier cycle en mathématiques et en physique du Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Données de qualité pour une meilleure qualité de vie

Erik Snowberg a l’intention de faire de l’University of British Columbia le chef de file mondial en matière de recherche empirique sur l’économie politique. La Chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada sur l’utilisation de méthodes à forte intensité de données en économie de cette université a recours à des données novatrices pour comprendre les répercussions des politiques, et de la politique en général, sur l’économie. Le professeur Snowberg et son équipe de chercheurs examinent comment les groupes environnementaux et les entreprises peuvent collaborer avec le gouvernement en vue d’améliorer simultanément la productivité économique et la qualité de vie.

Ces dernières années, les différents types de données produites et stockées par les entreprises, les gouvernements et les simples citoyens ont connu une augmentation spectaculaire. Ces données, et les outils nécessaires pour les analyser, pourraient transformer radicalement le champ théorique de l’économie politique et le faire passer du niveau macroéconomique à une démarche microéconomique fondée sur les données.

Cette nouvelle voie pour l’économie politique fera en sorte qu'il sera possible de cerner l’économie et la politique à un niveau auquel les gens, les entreprises et les politiciens en font l’expérience. Les recherches qui sous-tendent cette nouvelle orientation fourniront aussi aux gouvernements, aux entreprises et aux sociétés les outils dont ils ont besoin pour concevoir de meilleures politiques, qui soient politiquement réalisables.

Le professeur Snowberg et son équipe seront rattachés au Centre for Innovative Data in Economics (CIDE) de l’University of British Columbia, un nouveau centre consacré aux données novatrices dont les travaux s’appuieront sur l’expertise déjà considérable que l’université a acquise en économie du travail, en commerce international, en organisation industrielle et en économie politique.

À titre de titulaire de la chaire d’excellence en recherche du Canada, M. Snowberg supervisera la mise en place du CIDE et de ses fonds de données. La chaire et le centre contribueront à la création d’un « carrefour de savoir » qui attirera et retiendra au pays les meilleurs chercheurs de partout dans le monde et dotera un personnel hautement qualifié des compétences voulues pour analyser des ensembles de données volumineux afin d’appuyer les décisions en matière de politiques et les pratiques.