Thomas Thundat

Thomas Thundat

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Oil Sands Molecular Engineering

University of Alberta


“Thomas Thundat bridges basic research and industry application with an impressive track record of commercialization. He is a terrific addition to the University of Alberta team researching energy and environment.”

― Indira Samarasekera, president, University of Alberta

Biography

Thomas Thundat is a world leader in the study of molecules and nanoscale structures at interfaces. He has pioneered new techniques for detecting molecules on surfaces, even in trace quantities, and has developed new sensors that have tremendous potential applications for oilsands processing.

Before becoming Canada Excellence Research Chair in Oil Sands Molecular Engineering, Thundat was a corporate fellow and leader of the Nanoscale Science and Devices Group at the Oak Ridge National Laboratory in Tennessee. He was also a research professor at the University of Tennessee and a visiting professor at the University of Burgundy, France. Thundat holds a PhD in physics from the University at Albany, State University of New York, and a master’s from the Indian Institute of Technology in Madras, India. He has more than 300 publication credits in leading international journals and textbooks, and holds 32 patents.

Internationally recognized for his work, Thundat has received several awards, including the Young Scientist Award from the US Department of Energy, the Pioneer Award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers, the Nano50 Award, and the Scientific American 50 Award. He was also twice named the Oak Ridge National Laboratory Inventor of the Year.

Developing Sustainable Techniques for Oil Sands Recovery

The massive landscapes of Alberta's oilsands represent a multi-billion dollar economic operation. And yet, the key to whether the oil they hold can be successfully extracted and refined lies in micro-scale chemical processes, such as the complex interaction of water and bitumen, and of sand and clay. If scientists can understand more about the complex processes happening both underground and during oil recovery, they will be able to develop cheaper and more energy-efficient methods of extraction.

Thomas Thundat, Canada Excellence Research Chair in Oil Sands Molecular Engineering, is developing new detection and extraction technologies to improve the overall efficiency of how Canada’s oilsands are processed. These tools will help establish a basic understanding of oil sands interfaces and will eventually lead to extraction processes that are more energy-efficient, use less water, and reduce greenhouse gas emissions.

His research program will enhance the University of Alberta’s existing expertise in oilsands research, and will bring together leading-edge researchers in nanotechnology, biomedical engineering, information communications technologies, and natural and energy resource management.

The work being done in Thundat’s lab is leading to more sustainable techniques for oil extraction and refinement, greatly reducing the environmental impact of the oil industry and helping Canada better meet its emissions reduction targets.


Duration

1:41

Release date

October 11, 2011



View video on YouTube

Read the Transcript

Thomas Thundat, University of Alberta

The goal of my research is basically to understand the fundamental processes involved in the oil sands, mainly oilsand interface.

So we will be developing tools and techniques to understand the mechanisms. Also, it will help to develop better suppression techniques.

This research will lead to developing techniques and tools for efficient separation techniques that will be energy efficient, also less polluting.

The career achievement that I have is developing nano-mechanical sensors, which are miniature micro-fabricated sensors that can be used for bio-sensing to chemical sensing to environmental sensing to even to homeland security.

What attracted me to the University of Alberta is the people there. They have stellar faculty who's doing amazing work. And also the facilities. They have many resources.

Thomas Thundat

Thomas Thundat

Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur le génie moléculaire des sables bitumineux

University of Alberta


« Thomas Thundat jette un pont entre la recherche fondamentale et l'application industrielle, affichant un impressionnant dossier de commercialisation. Il représente un ajout formidable à l'équipe de recherche sur l'énergie et l'environnement de l'University of Alberta »

― Indira Samarasekera, rectrice, University of Alberta

Biographie

Thomas Thundat est un leader mondial dans l'étude des molécules et des structures nanométriques au niveau des interfaces. Il a mis au point de nouvelles techniques de détection des molécules sur les surfaces – même en quantité restreinte – ainsi que de nouveaux capteurs offrant de nombreuses applications potentielles pour le traitement des sables bitumineux.

Avant d'être titulaire de la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur le génie moléculaire des sables bitumineux, M. Thundat a agi à titre de collaborateur extérieur et de dirigeant du Nanoscale Science & Devices Group de l'Oak Ridge National Laboratory, au Tennessee. De plus, il a été professeur de recherche à l'University of Tennessee, à Knoxville, et professeur invité à l'Université de Bourgogne, en France. M. Thundat est titulaire d’un doctorat de physique de l'University at Albany–SUNY et d'une maîtrise de l'Indian Institute of Technology de Madras, en Inde. Il compte plus de 300 publications dans des revues et des ouvrages de premier plan de calibre international et détient 32 brevets.

Reconnu à l'échelle internationale pour son travail, M. Thundat a reçu plusieurs prix, dont le prix Young Scientist du ministère américain de l'Énergie, le prix Pioneer de l'American Society of Mechanical Engineers, le Nano50 Award et le Scientific American 50 Award. De plus, il a été nommé à deux reprises inventeur de l'année de l'Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

Mettre au point des techniques durables pour l'exploitation des sables bitumineux

Les vastes réserves de sables bitumineux de l'Alberta représentent une activité économique de plusieurs milliards de dollars. Pourtant, ce sont des processus chimiques microscopiques – comme l'interaction complexe entre l'eau et le bitume ou entre le sable et l'argile – qui déterminent si le pétrole contenu dans les sables bitumineux peut être extrait et raffiné. En étudiant ces processus complexes qui se produisent dans le sous-sol et pendant la récupération du pétrole, les scientifiques pourront concevoir des méthodes d'extraction moins coûteuses et plus éconergétiques.

Thomas Thundat, titulaire de la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur le génie moléculaire des sables bitumineux, met au point de nouvelles technologies de détection et d'extraction afin d'accroître l'efficacité générale du traitement des sables bitumineux au Canada.

Les outils qu'il conçoit aideront à mieux comprendre les interfaces des sables bitumineux et mèneront à des processus d'extraction plus éconergétiques, utilisant moins d'eau et réduisant les émissions de gaz à effet de serre.

Le programme de recherche de M. Thundat viendra complémenter l'expertise actuelle des chercheurs de l'University of Alberta sur les sables bitumineux. Son programme réunira des chercheurs de pointe en nanotechnologie, en génie biomédical, en technologie de l'information et des communications ainsi qu'en gestion des ressources naturelles et énergétiques.

Le travail effectué dans le laboratoire de M. Thundat mène à des techniques durables d'extraction et de raffinement du pétrole, diminuant grandement l'impact environnemental de l'industrie pétrolière et aidant le Canada à mieux atteindre ses objectifs en matière de réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre.


Durée

1 min 41 s

Date de publication

le 11 octobre, 2011



Visionner la vidéo sur YouTube

Lire la transcription

Thomas Thundat, University of Alberta

Ma recherche a pour but de comprendre les processus fondamentaux en cause dans l'exploitation des sables bitumineux, c'est-à-dire les interfaces des sables bitumineux.

Pour y parvenir, j'entends mettre au point des outils et des techniques visant à en comprendre les mécanismes, ce qui aidera aussi à élaborer de meilleures techniques de suppression.

Mes travaux permettront de concevoir des méthodes et des outils susceptibles de rendre éconergétiques et moins polluantes les techniques de séparation des sables bitumineux.

Parmi mes réalisations professionnelles, j'ai créé des capteurs nanomécaniques – des capteurs miniatures qui peuvent servir à divers types de détection : biologique, chimique et environnementale, voire à la sécurité intérieure du pays.

Ce qui m'a attiré à l'University of Alberta, ce sont les gens. Il s'y trouve des professeurs brillants, qui font un travail exceptionnel. Les installations de l'université, qui offrent de nombreuses ressources, sont aussi un atout.