Philippe Van Cappellen

Philippe Van Cappellen

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Ecohydrology

University of Waterloo


“Known for his stellar international reputation, as well as his expertise in developing a new research area in ecohydrology, we welcome Philippe Van Cappellen to the University of Waterloo as we continue to build upon our already world-renowned program in hydrology.”

― David Johnston, past president, University of Waterloo

Biography

Philippe Van Cappellen is to biogeochemistry what a conductor is to an orchestra—an expert who brings together disparate groups and creates something infinitely more wonderful than the sum of its parts.

Van Cappellen joined the University of Waterloo in 2011. He was previously the Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar in Global Environmental Studies in the School of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences at the Georgia Institute of Technology. He was also a part-time professor in the department of earth sciences at Utrecht University, The Netherlands. Van Cappellen holds a PhD in geochemistry from Yale University, and a master’s and bachelor’s degree in geology and mineralogy from the Free University of Brussels, Belgium.

Some of Van Cappellen’s important professional accomplishments include acting as the director of the Center for Soil, Water and Coastal Resources at Utrecht University, and participating in various European research and training networks. He was a visiting scientist at the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, and a visiting professor at the University of Ottawa. He has also served as co-editor-in-chief of the Journal of Hydrology, and associate editor of the American Journal of Science, Geology, and the Geomicrobiology Journal. He recently joined the editorial board of the newly launched journal Limnology and Oceanography: Fluids and Environments.

Defining the Future of Water Resource Management

The availability and quality of fresh water is critical to both human health and the functioning of the world's essential ecosystems. However, the sustainability of the Earth's fresh water supply is being threatened by overuse and environmental stresses, such as climate change and pollution. To tackle these threats and ensure the future of our remaining fresh water, policy-makers need new approaches and tools for managing this vital resource.

People often think of surface water (the water of rivers and lakes) as the world’s main source of fresh water. However, the most available and abundant source of fresh water is groundwater—the water beneath the Earth’s surface, which supplies wells and springs.
Canada Excellence Research Chair in Ecohydrology Philippe Van Cappellen is increasing our understanding of how groundwater and surface waters interact, and how these interactions affect the health of aquatic ecosystems and, ultimately, the well-being of human populations.

In particular, Van Cappellen focuses on the movement of nutrients and toxic metals between groundwater and surface water. Combining laboratory and field experiments with mathematical modelling, he is able to define the accompanying biogeochemical changes and their impacts on water quality and ecosystem health.

With his research team at Waterloo, Van Cappellen is using experimental data and theoretical modelling to develop environmental simulation tools that can be applied to river catchments around the world. These models will ultimately be capable of predicting how hydrological systems, which are crucial to our social and economic well-being, respond to natural and human-induced changes.

Van Cappellen’s research is revolutionizing global strategies for managing water resources by revealing the range of effects that groundwater withdrawal, land use and climate change have on the chemical and ecological status of groundwater and surface water. It also allows policy-makers and stakeholders to make responsible decisions about water resource management that will balance the needs of human and ecosystem health.


Duration

2:12

Release date

October 11, 2011



View video on YouTube

Read the Transcript

Philippe Van Cappellen, University of Waterloo

So my name is Philippe Van Cappallen, and I'm the CERC nominee in ecohydrology, at the University of Waterloo. The goal of my research is to better understand the chemical interactions between groundwater and surface water, and then to use this understanding to predict how increased consumption of water, or land-use changes or climate change affects water quality and the health of aquatic ecosystems.

The achievement I'm probably most proud of is just a large number of graduate students and postdoctoral associates who have passed through my lab over the years, and now have gone out to better things and great careers, and at the last count, my former PhD students, and postdoctoral researchers are now active in over 10 countries world wide.

The University of Waterloo is internationally recognized as a centre of excellence for both fundamental and applied research on water-related issues, and it has one of the largest concentrations of engineers and scientists working in that field. So for me, it's the ideal place to build a new program, at the interface between hydrology, so the signs of water, and ecology, the signs of living systems.

On a more personal basis, moving to Waterloo is also kind of a homecoming for me, since I have very strong family ties in Canada.

My research will better characterize, or delineate how humans are impacting water quality, and the availability of groundwater resources, so that we'll also yield guidelines on how to better manage this limited resource, by balancing the needs for water of society with those of natural ecosystems.

The most beneficial outcome will be that we will have a better characterization of how humans impact water quality and water quantity, and that will then provide guidelines on how to better manage this limited water resource, by balancing the water needs of society with those of natural ecosystems.

Philippe Van Cappellen

Philippe Van Cappellen

Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur l'écohydrologie

University of Waterloo


« D'une excellente réputation internationale, Philippe Van Cappellen possède une expertise dans un nouveau champ de recherche en écohydrologie. C'est pourquoi nous nous réjouissons de son arrivée à l'University of Waterloo alors que nous continuons à élargir notre programme en hydrologie, un programme qui a déjà acquis une renommée mondiale. »

― David Johnston, ancien recteur, University of Waterloo

Biographie

Expert en biogéochimie, Philippe Van Cappellen a cette capacité de rassembler des groupes de divers horizons qui, en combinant leurs connaissances diverses, peuvent produire d'incroyables résultats.

M. Van Cappellen s'est joint à l'équipe de l'University of Waterloo en 2011. Auparavant, il était un éminent chercheur en études environnementales mondiales de l'Alliance de recherche de la Géorgie à l'École des sciences de la Terre et de l'atmosphère de la Georgia Institute of Technology. De plus, il enseignait à temps partiel au Département des sciences de la Terre de l'Université Utrecht, aux Pays-Bas.

M. Van Cappellen possède un diplôme de doctorat en géochimie de la Yale University ainsi qu'une maîtrise et un diplôme de premier cycle en géologie et en minéralogie de l'Université libre de Bruxelles, en Belgique.

M. Van Cappellen a à son actif d'importantes réalisations professionnelles. Il a notamment agi à titre de directeur du Centre des ressources du sol et des ressources hydriques et côtières de l'Université Utrecht. Dans le cadre de ses fonctions, il a participé à divers réseaux de recherche et de formation en Europe. Il a aussi été chercheur invité au Laboratoire national Lawrence Berkeley et professeur invité à l'Université d'Ottawa. En outre, il a occupé les postes de rédacteur en chef adjoint du Journal of Hydrology ainsi que de corédacteur de l'American Journal of Science, de Geology et du Geomicrobiology Journal. Il s'est récemment joint au comité de rédaction d'une nouvelle revue intitulée Limnology and Oceanography: Fluids and Environments.

Gestion de l'eau : Que nous réserve l'avenir?

La disponibilité et la qualité de l'eau douce sont essentielles pour assurer la santé des êtres humains et le fonctionnement des écosystèmes. Toutefois, la durabilité des réserves d'eau douce de la Terre est menacée par la surutilisation de la ressource et des contraintes environnementales, comme le changement climatique et la pollution. Afin d'écarter ces menaces et d'assurer la pérennité des réserves d'eau douce existantes, les responsables de l'élaboration des politiques ont besoin de nouvelles approches et de nouveaux outils de gestion de cette ressource vitale.

Nous avons tendance à croire que l'eau de surface – c'est-à-dire l'eau des lacs et des rivières – est la principale source d'approvisionnement en eau douce. Mais en réalité, les eaux souterraines, qui alimentent les puits et les sources, représentent la source d'eau douce la plus abondante et exploitable.

En tant que titulaire de la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur l'écohydrologie, Philippe Van Cappellen nous aide à mieux comprendre comment les eaux de surface et les eaux souterraines interagissent et comment leur interaction a une incidence sur la santé d'écosystèmes aquatiques et, en bout de ligne, sur le bien-être de l'être humain.

M. Van Cappellen s'intéresse en particulier à la circulation des nutriments et des métaux toxiques entre les eaux de surface et les eaux souterraines. En combinant des expériences menées en laboratoire et sur le terrain avec des modèles mathématiques, il est en mesure de définir les changements biogéochimiques qui accompagnent cette circulation ainsi que leur impact sur la qualité de l'eau et la santé des écosystèmes.

En collaboration avec son équipe de recherche de l'University of Waterloo, M. Van Cappellen se sert de données expérimentales et de modèles théoriques pour mettre au point des outils de simulation environnementale qui pourront être utilisés pour les bassins récepteurs des rivières, et ce, dans le monde entier. Ces modèles permettront ultimement de prédire comment les systèmes hydriques – dont le rôle est crucial pour assurer notre bien-être social et économique – répondent aux changements naturels et anthropiques.

Par sa recherche, M. Van Cappellen révolutionne les stratégies mondiales de gestion de l’eau en s'efforçant de déterminer la portée des effets de l'exploitation des eaux souterraines, de l'utilisation du sol et du changement climatique sur l'état chimique et écologique des eaux de surface et des eaux souterraines. De plus, cela permet aux responsables de l'élaboration des politiques et aux intervenants, au sujet de la gestion des ressources hydriques, de prendre des décisions judicieuses qui assureront un certain équilibre entre les besoins des êtres humains et le bon fonctionnement des écosystèmes.


Durée

2 min 12 s

Date de publication

le 11 octobre, 2011



Visionner la vidéo sur YouTube

Lire la transcription

Philippe Van Cappellen, University of Waterloo

Je me présente, Philippe Van Cappellen. Je suis titulaire de la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur l'écohydrologie de l’University of Waterloo. Ma recherche vise à mieux comprendre les interactions chimiques entre les eaux souterraines et les eaux de surface afin de déterminer comment l’augmentation de la consommation d’eau, les changements dans l’utilisation du sol et le changement climatique exercent une influence sur la qualité de l’eau et la santé des écosystèmes aquatiques.

L’accomplissement dont je suis le plus fier... Du grand nombre d’étudiants de cycle supérieur et de collègues postdoctoraux qui ont travaillé dans mon laboratoire au fil des années et qui mènent aujourd’hui d’excellentes carrières. Aux dernières nouvelles, mes anciens étudiants de doctorat et stagiaires postdoctoraux travaillaient dans plus de dix pays différents.

L’University of Waterloo est internationalement reconnue comme un centre d’excellence en matière de recherche fondamentale et appliquée axée sur les enjeux hydrologiques. Il s’y trouve le plus grand nombre d’ingénieurs et de scientifiques du monde dans ce domaine. Pour moi, c’est donc l’endroit idéal pour lancer un nouveau programme portant sur l’hydrologie (la science de l’eau) et l’écologie (la science des systèmes vivants).

D’un point de vue plus personnel, venir m’installer à Waterloo est, en quelque sorte, un retour au pays puisque des membres très proches de ma famille habitent au Canada.

Mes travaux permettront de mieux caractériser, ou définir, l’impact de l’activité humaine sur la qualité de l’eau et la disponibilité des ressources en eaux souterraines de manière à fournir des lignes directrices sur la façon de mieux gérer ces ressources limitées en équilibrant les besoins en eau de la société et ceux des écosystèmes naturels.

Le plus grand bénéfice de ma recherche? Elle nous donnera une meilleure idée de la manière dont l’être humain influe sur la qualité de l’eau et sa quantité, ce qui nous permettra de proposer des orientations sur la façon de gérer plus efficacement cette ressource limitée en tenant compte des besoins de la société et de ceux des écosystèmes naturels.