Douglas Wallace

Douglas Wallace

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Ocean Science and Technology

Dalhousie University


“This appointment marks a significant development in the history of Dalhousie University. Dr. Wallace and his team will have the resources to carry out leading-edge research to measure critical changes in the world's oceans and develop new tools to advance predictions of these changes”

― Tom Traves, president, Dalhousie University

Biography

Douglas Wallace is a world leader in developing new technologies to measure changes to the world's oceans.

Before becoming Canada Excellence Research Chair in Ocean Science and Technology, Wallace was professor of marine chemistry at the Leibniz Institute of Marine Sciences in Kiel, Germany. There, he also served as deputy director and head of the Marine Biogeochemistry Research Division. He holds a PhD in chemical oceanography from Dalhousie University and a bachelor’s degree in environmental science from the University of East Anglia, United Kingdom.

Wallace spent more than a decade working as a scientist at the prestigious Brookhaven National Laboratory in the United States. He also made significant scientific contributions to his field through the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, and the US Department of Energy, where he developed the first survey to measure the global distribution of fossil-fuel carbon in the oceans.

Wallace is highly skilled at building successful multidisciplinary research teams, including CARBOOCEAN, a five-year study of the ocean carbon cycle, SOLAS, a global project investigating interactions between the atmosphere and the ocean. He also led the development of an ocean and atmosphere observatory on the Cape Verde Islands off the West African coast.

Discovering New Ways to Measure Change in the Oceans

Over the past decade, scientists have documented unprecedented changes in the world's ocean systems, from rising sea levels and overfishing to habitat destruction and ongoing increases in the acidity of ocean water. Canada continues to be directly affected by these physical, chemical and ecological changes, which have already brought the collapse of commercially important fish stocks, and changes in Arctic climate and ice cover.

As Canada Excellence Research Chair in Ocean Science and Technology, Douglas Wallace leads a research team working to help us predict and prepare for these threats by examining the causes and consequences of recent changes and building tools to detect and address them.

With his team at Dalhousie University, Wallace is developing new observation instruments that are more sensitive to biogeochemical oceanic change than current methods of detection. Packages of these instruments are being stationed on research vessels, but also on commercial ships that will act as “volunteer” observing platforms as well as on autonomous vehicles.

Wallace will use the data to measure, for example, how the uptake of fossil-fuel-derived carbon dioxide by the ocean is changing. Then, working with other Dalhousie investigators, Wallace will develop computer models to predict future changes in the exchange of carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases between sea and air—as a result of climate change, for example.

As the first science director of the new Halifax Marine Research Institute, Wallace is playing a critical role in establishing a broad, long-term research agenda for the region. Bringing together academics and government researchers, the institute will serve as a bridge between the marine research community, the private sector and policy-makers, as well as becoming an integral part of joint projects with other nations. It will also provide Canada with the best possible tools and scientific information available for making informed decisions about our oceans.

Related Sites

Douglas Wallace


Duration

2:12

Release date

October 11, 2011



View video on YouTube

Read the Transcript

Douglas Wallace, Dalhousie University

So I'd just like to say a few words about what I'll try to achieve with this pretty amazing award. And then I'll stick to some generalities. I'd love to give a long detailed lecture about all the detailed things I'm going to do, but maybe I'll save that for another time. But if I do have time I'll say a few words about my experience with the process underlying this award.

My future research will focus on the north Atlantic Ocean and the very major changes that are underway in that ocean basin. Our focus on changes to ocean chemistry and biology but of course there is climate change going on as well and that's the context for all the other changes.

And needless to say Atlantic Canada, especially the Halifax/Dartmouth region, is an excellent base for research of this type, the research into the Atlantic Ocean. And Dalhousie has a long and internationally respected history of work in these fields as does the Bedford Institute of Oceanography and other institutions in the region. I'll have lots of excellent academic colleagues and also companies to work with.

Douglas Wallace

Douglas Wallace

Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur la science et la technologie des océans

Dalhousie University


« L'obtention de cette chaire d'excellence représente un pas important dans l'histoire de la Dalhousie University. Douglas Wallace et son équipe disposeront des ressources nécessaires pour mener des travaux de recherche de pointe visant à mesurer les changements cruciaux qui se produisent dans les océans et à créer de nouveaux outils capables de prédire ces changements. »

― Tom Traves, recteur,Dalhousie University

Biographie

Douglas Wallace est un chef de file mondial en matière d'élaboration de nouvelles technologies permettant de mesurer les changements cruciaux qui se produisent dans les océans.

Avant de devenir titulaire de la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur la science et la technologie des océans, M. Wallace a été professeur de chimie marine au Leibniz Institute of Marine Sciences de Kiel, en Allemagne. Il y a également agi à titre de directeur adjoint et de chef de la Division de la recherche sur la biochimie marine. Il possède un doctorat en océanographie chimique de la Dalhousie University ainsi qu'un baccalauréat en sciences de l'environnement de l'University of East Anglia, située au Royaume-Uni.

Douglas Wallace excelle dans la mise sur pied d'équipes de recherche multidisciplinaires productives, notamment dans le cadre de CARBOOCEAN, un projet quinquennal portant sur l'étude du cycle du carbone présent dans les océans, et de SOLAS, un projet mondial visant à étudier les interactions qui existent entre l'atmosphère et les océans. Enfin, il a dirigé la création d'une importante station d'observation atmosphérique et océanique aux Îles du Cap-Vert, situées au large de la côte Ouest de l'Afrique.

De nouvelles façons de prendre le pouls des océans

Au cours de la dernière décennie, des scientifiques ont remarqué que le système océanique mondial a connu des changements sans précédent, notamment en ce qui a trait à l'élévation du niveau de la mer, à la pêche excessive, à la destruction d'habitats et à l'augmentation constante du taux d'acidité océanique. Le Canada est directement concerné par ces changements d'ordre physique, chimique ou écologique, qui ont déjà entraîné l'effondrement commercial d'importants stocks de poissons ainsi qu'une modification du climat arctique et de la couverture de glace.

En tant que titulaire de la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur la science et la technologie des océans, Douglas Wallace dirigera une équipe de recherche dont les travaux aideront à prévoir ces menaces et à s'y préparer en examinant les causes et les conséquences des récents changements et en concevant des outils visant à les détecter et à y faire face.

Avec son équipe de la Dalhousie University, M. Wallace mettra au point des instruments d'observation plus précis que ne le sont les moyens actuellement utilisés pour détecter les changements biogéochimiques des océans. Ces instruments se retrouvent à bord de navires océanographiques, de navires commerciaux servant de plateformes d'observation « volontaires » et de véhicules autonomes.

M. Wallace utilisera ces données pour mesurer par exemple la variation du taux d'absorption, par les océans, du gaz carbonique provenant de combustibles fossiles. Puis, il travaillera de concert avec d'autres chercheurs de la Dalhousie University afin de concevoir des modèles informatiques capables de prédire les changements qui se produisent dans les échanges de gaz carbonique et d'autres gaz à effet de serre entre la mer et l'air, dont ceux causés par le changement climatique.

À titre de premier directeur scientifique du nouvel institut de recherche marine de Halifax, M. Wallace joue un rôle crucial quant à l'établissement d'un vaste programme de recherche à long terme pour la région. En réunissant des universitaires et des chercheurs du gouvernement, cet institut facilitera la création de liens entre la communauté de la recherche marine, le secteur privé et les responsables de l'élaboration de politiques et deviendra un acteur important dans des projets conjoints menés avec d'autres pays. Il fournira égalem

Sites Web connexes

Douglas Wallace (en anglais seulement)


Durée

2 min 12 s

Date de publication

le 11 octobre, 2011



Visionner la vidéo sur YouTube

Lire la transcription

Douglas Wallace, Dalhousie University

J'aimerais dire quelques mots au sujet des objectifs que j'entends atteindre grâce à cet incroyable financement. Je m'en tiendrai toutefois à quelques généralités. J'aurais aimé vous faire un rapport détaillé du travail que j'effectuerai, mais ce sera pour une prochaine fois. Enfin, si j'ai le temps, je parlerai brièvement de mon expérience concernant le processus d'attribution de ce financement.

Mes travaux de recherche porteront sur l'Atlantique Nord et les très importants changements qui s'y produisent : non seulement les modifications chimiques et biologiques que subit l'océan, mais aussi le changement climatique, qui a une incidence sur tout le reste.

Nul besoin de préciser que le Canada atlantique, et en particulier la région Halifax-Dartmouth, est un lieu idéal pour mener des recherches sur l'océan Atlantique.

La Dalhousie University, tout comme l'Institut océanographique de Bedford et d'autres établissements de la région, travaille depuis longtemps dans ces domaines et est reconnue à l'échelle mondiale pour son expertise. Je serai donc entouré de nombreux excellents collègues universitaires et je serai appelé à collaborer avec beaucoup d'entreprises.