Howard Wheater

Howard Wheater

Canada Excellence Research Chair in Water Security

University of Saskatchewan


“With Howard Wheater's stellar international experience and leadership, and our unparalleled combination of expertise and facilities at the University of Saskatchewan, we will establish a pre-eminent research and training institute on water security—addressing both water quality and quantity issues—with potential to transform how the world uses and manages water.”

― Peter MacKinnon, president, University of Saskatchewan

Biography

Howard Wheater is a world expert in hydrological science and sustainable water resource management. He has extensive international experience studying and advising on flood, water resource and water quality issues. He is also vice-chair of the World Climate Research Programme's Global Energy and Water Cycle Experiment (GEWEX), and leads UNESCO's arid zone water resources program.

In addition to his title of Canada Excellence Research Chair in Water Security, Wheater is also a member of the Alberta Environmental Monitoring Panel, the Council of Canadian Academies Expert Panel on Sustainable Management of Water in the Agricultural Landscapes of Canada, the Water Partner Advisory Committee to the Council of the Federation Water Stewardship Council, and an International Court of Arbitration concerning the Indus Waters Treaty.

Before arriving in Canada, Wheater served as professor of hydrology and director of the Environment Forum at the United Kingdom's Imperial College London. He holds a PhD in hydrology from Bristol University and a first-class degree in engineering science from the University of Cambridge. He was president of the British Hydrological Society and is a fellow of the UK's Royal Academy of Engineering, the Institution of Civil Engineers, and the American Geophysical Union. He has published over 200 peer-reviewed papers and six books, and has won several academic awards, including the prestigious Prince Sultan Bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water.

Sustaining the World's Water Resources

Climate change, pollution and overuse of water resources threaten the world's water security. Across Canada and around the world, there are increasing concerns about the quality and availability of water over the long term, both for public consumption and to support industry, agriculture, resource development and the proper functioning of ecosystems. In addition, flooding and droughts, some of the most damaging and costly natural hazards, are projected to increase as the climate warms.

Howard Wheater, Canada Excellence Research Chair in Water Security at the University of Saskatchewan, leads a team of experts in water-related science, health, social science and policy at the Global Institute for Water Security. Housed in Environment Canada's National Hydrology Research Centre in Saskatoon, this global institute is unique in Canada, and represents one of the world's most important clusters of water-related expertise. At the institute, multidisciplinary science, engineering and social science teams work with industrial and government partners to address four broad research themes: climate change and water security; land-water management and environmental change; sustainable development of natural resources; and socio-hydrology.

Through this research, Wheater and the institute's experts aim is to improve water use and management, advance water policy, and provide new tools for environmental risk assessment and remediation. Their discoveries will help communities better prepare for and manage threats, such as flooding and drought. It will help governments develop better water policies and ensure the safety of our drinking water supply. This research will also increase our understanding of how to minimize and manage the negative effects of oil sands, mining, agriculture and pollution on the world's water supply.


Duration

2:12

Release date

October 11, 2011



View video on YouTube

Read the Transcript

Howard Wheater, University of Saskatchewan

My name is Howard Wheater and I'm the newly appointed CERC Chair in Water Security at the University of Saskatchewan. My aim is to do world-class research but research that makes a difference. And we have the challenge in water security of a set of issues, which actually affect everybody.

There are real stresses throughout the world, but there are also a whole range of important issues that affect Canada and Western Canada in particular. So we'll be looking at several of those. So one area is natural resource development, the issues of mining, of oil sands, the water needs, the wastes that are generated, the need for remediation, pollution control.

A second area is looking at the issue of land and its interaction with water and particularly nutrients and the associated water quality issues that arise, for example, from human sewage and agricultural pollution.

And then finally, I guess the big one is climate change and its affect on water resources. So Canada is really at the forefront of global warming and all around us the environment is changing. Glaciers are retreating in the Rocky Mountains, permafrost is thawing. Really dramatic and quite rapid changes.

You know, with the additional funding available from the CERC Chair, then, I think we can really make some powerful new developments in the science and technology that we need to address issues of water security.

In addition, we have outstanding leadership in the university who have taken water as an issue and seen the challenge both in Canada and globally, and been prepared to lead and invest in the area.

Howard Wheater

Howard Wheater

Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur la sécurité de l'eau

University of Saskatchewan


« Grâce à l’exceptionnelle expérience internationale de Howard Wheater, à son remarquable leadership ainsi qu’à la solide expertise et à la qualité des installations de l’University of Saskatchewan, il sera possible de mettre sur pied un institut de recherche et de formation de haut niveau sur la sécurité de l’eau pour étudier à la fois la qualité de l’eau et les questions relatives à sa disponibilité, ce qui pourrait modifier la façon dont cette ressource est utilisée et gérée dans le monde. »

― Peter MacKinnon, recteur, University of Saskatchewan

Biographie

Expert mondial en matière de sciences hydrologiques et de gestion durable des ressources hydriques, Howard Wheater possède une vaste expérience internationale de l’étude et de la prestation de conseils en ce qui a trait aux inondations, aux ressources hydriques et à la qualité de l’eau. En outre, il est vice-président du Programme mondial de recherche sur le climat (expérience mondiale sur les cycles de l’énergie et de l’eau, GEWEX) et il dirige le Programme sur les ressources hydriques des zones arides de l’UNESCO.

En plus d’occuper la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur la sécurité de l’eau, M. Wheater est également un membre de l’Alberta Environmental Monitoring Panel, du comité d'experts sur la gestion durable de l'eau des terres agricoles du Canada du Conseil des académies canadiennes, du Comité consultatif des partenaires de l’eau du Conseil de gestion de l’eau du Conseil de la fédération ainsi que de l’International Court of Arbitration liée au Traité sur les eaux de l'Indus.

Avant d’arriver au Canada, M. Wheater était professeur d’hydrologie à l’Imperial College London, au Royaume-Uni, et directeur du Forum sur l’environnement de ce même établissement. Il possède un doctorat en hydrologie de la Bristol University et un diplôme de premier cycle en génie de l’University of Cambridge. Ancien président de la British Hydrological Society, il est membre de l’Institution of Civil Engineers, de l’American Geophysical Union et de la Royal Academy of Engineering du Royaume-Uni. Il a publié plus de 200 articles dans des revues avec comité de lecture ainsi que six ouvrages. Il s’est également vu décerner plusieurs prix universitaires, dont le prestigieux prix international pour la recherche hydrologique du Prince Sultan ben Abdulaziz.

Assurer la durabilité des ressources hydriques mondiales

Le changement climatique, la pollution et l’utilisation abusive des ressources hydriques représentent une menace pour la sécurité de l’eau de notre planète. Au Canada et dans le reste du monde, on est de plus en plus préoccupé par la qualité de l’eau et sa disponibilité à long terme, que ce soit à des fins de consommation ou pour soutenir l’industrie, l’agriculture, la production de ressources et le bon fonctionnement des écosystèmes. De plus, on s’attend à ce que les inondations et les sécheresses – parmi les désastres naturelles les plus dommageables et les plus coûteux – augmentent au fur et à mesure que le climat se réchauffe.

Howard Wheater, titulaire de la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur la sécurité de l’eau de l’University of Saskatchewan, une équipe de chercheurs des domaines de l’hydrologie, de la santé, des sciences sociales et de l’élaboration de politiques à l’Institut national de recherche sur les eaux. Abrité dans les locaux du Centre national de recherche en hydrologie d’Environnement Canada, cet institut constitue l’un des plus importants regroupements d’experts ayant des connaissances liées à l’eau.

À l’Institut, des équipes de chercheurs multidisciplinaires en sciences naturelles, en génie et en sciences sociales travaillent avec des partenaires de l’industrie et du gouvernement sur quatre principaux thèmes de recherche : le changement climatique et la sécurité de l’eau; la gestion de la terre et de l’eau et le changement environnemental; le développement durable des ressources naturelles; et la socio-hydrologie.

Grâce à cette recherche, M. Wheater et les experts de l’Institut vise à améliorer l’utilisation et la gestion de l’eau, à faire avancer les politiques en matière d’eau et à fournir de nouveaux outils pour évaluer et réduire le risque environnemental. Leurs découvertes aideront les communautés à mieux se préparer aux menaces, telles que les inondations et les sécheresses. Les travaux de M. Wheater aideront les gouvernements à élaborer de meilleures politiques en matière d’eau et à assurer la sécurité des réserves d’eaux potables. Ils permettront également d’obtenir de meilleures connaissances sur la façon de mieux gérer les sables bitumineux, l’agriculture et la pollution des réserves d’eau mondiales.

Sites Web connexes

Global Institute for Water Security, University of Saskatchewan (en anglais seulement)


Durée

2 min 12 s

Date de publication

le 11 octobre, 2011



Visionner la vidéo sur YouTube

Lire la transcription

Howard Wheater, University of Saskatchewan

Je me présente, Howard Wheater. Je suis le tout nouveau titulaire de la Chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada sur la sécurité de l'eau de l'University of Saskatchewan. J'entends mener des travaux de recherche de calibre mondial qui feront une différence, car j'estime que l'ensemble des défis en matière de sécurité de l'eau nous concerne tous.

Le monde entier connaît de réelles difficultés, mais le Canada – en particulier l'Ouest canadien – est confronté à toute une série d'enjeux importants. Nous en examinerons un certain nombre. Nous nous pencherons tout d'abord sur la question de l'exploitation des ressources naturelles, notamment : l'extraction des sables bitumineux, les besoins en eau, la production de déchets, la nécessité d'adopter des mesures correctives et le contrôle de la pollution.

Puis nous étudierons la question de l'utilisation des terres et ce que cela représente par rapport à l'eau et en particulier aux nutriments. Nous aborderons aussi les enjeux liés à la qualité de l'eau que posent, par exemple, les eaux usées et la pollution agricole.

Enfin, nous nous attaquerons au changement climatique et à son impact sur les ressources hydriques. Le Canada occupe une place de premier plan en matière de réchauffement planétaire. L'environnement tout autour de nous change. Les glaciers reculent dans les Rocheuses et le pergélisol fond. La situation est vraiment critique, et ce sont là des changements qui surviennent rapidement.

Grâce à ma chaire d'excellence en recherche du Canada, je crois pouvoir faire d'importantes avancées en sciences et en technologie, des avancées qui seront nécessaires pour relever les enjeux liés à la sécurité de l'eau.

Je trouve que l'University of Saskatchewan joue un rôle exceptionnel de leader en ce qui a trait à la question de l'eau, qu’elle prend très au sérieux. Elle comprend les défis auxquels le Canada et le reste du monde font face. Et elle est prête à investir dans ce domaine et déterminée à conserver son titre de chef de file.