Members of the 2016 selection board

The prestigious, arms-length CERC selection board is composed of prominent Canadians and world-renowned experts from various fields.

Note: The institutional affiliations indicated for the selection board members date from 2016 and may have since changed.

The following members were appointed to the 2016 CERC selection board:


Brian Levitt
Osler, Hoskin & Harcourt LLP


Shirley M. Tilghman
President of University, Emeritus
Professor of Molecular Biology and Public Affairs
Princeton University


Carrie Bourassa
Scientific Director
Institute of Indigenous People’s Health
Canadian Institutes of Health Research

Kevin Chan
Global Director and Head of Public Policy, Canada

Imogen Coe
Dean, Faculty of Science
Ryerson University

Joanna Haigh
Co-director, Grantham Institute
Professor, Department of Physics, Faculty of Natural Sciences
Imperial College London

Lawrence Jardine
Head and Associate Professor of Pediatric Hematology and Oncology
Western University
Medical Director, Bleeding Disorders Program, Pediatrics
London Health Sciences Centre

Jack M. Mintz
President’s Fellow
School of Public Policy
University of Calgary

Patrick Pichette
Former Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Noel Schulz
Professor, School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Washington State University

Kevin Schürer
Professor of English Local History, Department of History
University of Leicester

Lap-Chee Tsui
Hong Kong Academy of Sciences

Kim Woodhouse
Professor of Chemical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science
Queen’s University