The Tri-agency Institutional Programs Secretariat (TIPS) is responsible for the day-to-day administration of the Canada Excellence Research Chairs Program.

TIPS reports to the following steering committee, which is responsible for providing strategic direction for the program and is the body that approves funding recommendations.

Steering Committee

Ted Hewitt (Chair)
President, SSHRC

Alejandro Adem
President, NSERC

Simon Kennedy
Deputy Minister, Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada

Stephen Lucas
Deputy Minister, Health Canada

Roseann O’Reilly Runte
President and CEO, CFI

Michael Strong
President, CIHR